We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Some say they deserve their fate. But isn’t everyone entitled to justice?

Forensic psychologist Paula Maguire is in a race against time to solve a deadly crime in THE SILENT DEAD, the third novel in Claire McGowan’s terrific, hard-hitting crime series. The perfect read for fans of Val McDermid and Elly Griffiths.

‘Astonishing, powerful and immensely satisfying’ – Peter James

Victim:
Male. Mid-thirties. 5’7″.
Cause of death: Hanging. Initial impression – murder.
ID: Mickey Doyle. Suspected terrorist and member of the Mayday Five.

The officers at the crime scene know exactly who the victim is. Doyle was one of five suspected bombers who caused the deaths of sixteen people.

The remaining four are also missing and when a second body is found, decapitated, it’s clear they are being killed by the same methods their victims suffered.

Forensic psychologist Paula Maguire is assigned the case but she is up against the clock – both personally and professionally.

With moral boundaries blurred between victim and perpetrator, will Paula be able to find those responsible? After all, even killers deserve justice…

What readers are saying about The Silent Dead:

Great atmosphere – it’s tense and chilling. I simply did not want to put this book down. Superb fast-paced plot and wonderful storytelling

‘A gripping story covering grief and frustration as it explores the moral dilemma of people failed by the system to may just be taking justice into their own hands. A great read’

Absorbing story that constantly holds your attention. Steady, tense layering, building up to the nerve-wrecking end

Reviews

Another clear-eyed analysis of violence and how it affects all who are touched by it . . . like the first two Maguire novels, terrific
Metro
I read The Silent Dead with my heart in my mouth . . . brilliant
Erin Kelly
In Dr Paula Maguire, [McGowan] has created a wonderfully complex character
Irish Independent
A breathlessly exciting and intelligent thriller with a brooding atmosphere
Sunday Mirror
I was gripped by The Silent Dead and was fully immersed in the world created by Claire McGowan's fine storytelling
www.forwinternights.wordpress.com
Deliciously satisfying
www.louisereviews.com
Hard-hitting crime writing at its best
Fabulous
Gripping . . . I very much look forward to McGowan's next one
www.thewelshlibrarian.blogspot.com
McGowan kept me guessing until the very end
www.booksandboardies.com
A gripping police procedural which takes us into the heart of a damaged, resilient nation
www.promotingcrime.blogspot.co.uk
Page-turning
Guardian
Ireland's answer to Ruth Rendell
Ken Bruen
A knockout new talent
Lee Child
Astonishing, powerful and immensely satisfying
Peter James
Compelling and flawless
Sharon Bolton