Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Tales from Schwartzgarten: Osbert the Avenger

Tales from Schwartzgarten: Osbert the Avenger

The first book in the gruesomely funny Tales from Schwartzgarten series.

Meet Osbert Brinkhoff, the unlikeliest of avengers. His is a tale of dark delights and ghastly goings-on, of injustice and revenge. The villains are vicious. The settings are sinister. And good does NOT always prevail…

If you prefer cleavers to kittens and fiends to fairies…then welcome to the GRUESOMELY FUNNY Tales from Schwartzgarten.

-Osbert the Avenger is the first in a thrilling series of four books, all set in the fictional city of Schwartzgarten

-With shades of Lemony Snicket and Roald Dahl, the Tales from Schwartzgarten are as hilarious as they are dark

-This brilliantly woven mock-gothic tale has huge child appeal
Read More

Reviews

Fans of Roald Dahl, Chris Priestly and Lemony Snicket will savour every gruesome drop of this stylish, grisly and original comedy.
The Times
An idiosyncratic comic fantasy... it is likely that children will be most enthusiastic.
Books For Keeps
Bloodthirsty and mysterious with a sharp spike in its tail, Osbert's story is a deliciously dark invitation to the strange world of Schwartzgarten, a city corrupt with shadows and secrets - and in need of a hero.
We Love this Book
Highly original... gruesome but funny.
parentsintouch.co.uk
A refreshingly unusual read.
Peters Gazette
Looks set to be a hugely successful new series. Marvelously detailed. There are three more bloodthirsty and hilarious adventures to come.
School Librarian
A macabre tale full of ghoulish and gruesome escapades. A frightening but appealing anti-hero.
Booktrust
One of those rare books children will happily read aloud to each other, which is one of the highest accolades a story can have. * * * * *
bookbag.co.uk
A riveting story - a clever mix of humour with some very dark and gruesome moments and a couple of real shocks towards the end.
Primary Times
If you love your teachers and have never entertained the thought of murdering them in the most diabolically appropriate way, then this book should probably be avoided at all costs.
Lion & Unicorn Books
Rules are broken in a carnival manner that is deliciously and genuinely thrilling
Books for Keeps
A gruesomely funny story... a tale of dark delights and ghastly goings-on, of injustice and revenge.
West Briton
A more deliciously gruesome tale of injury, revenge and murder it would be hard to find. * * * * *
bookbag.co.uk
Macabre and gruesome and wickedly funny.
Julia Eccleshare, lovereading.co.uk
Gruesomely funny. This brilliantly woven mock-gothic tale has huge child appeal.
West Books
This is a brilliantly written book with fantastic characters. It is a real page-turner, a hilarious read and it will delight boys and girls alike.
EdOntheWeb.com
For readers who like their stories darkly comic, in the style of Lemony Snicket... elaborate murders, twists and narrow escapes.
Sunday Times
A macabre tale full of ghoulish and gruesome escapades. Fans of Lemony Snicket and Edward Gorey will delight in this sinister story.
Booktrust
This man is darker, funnier and more alive than Roald Dahl.
Dan Patterson, creator of Mock The Week and Whose Line Is It Anyway
Dark and funny in a very horrible way.
Sunday Express
Utterly absorbing.
The Daily Telegraph
If you like your reading dark and gruesome, then this is the series for you!
Parents in Touch
Gruesomely funny.
School Librarian
You want to be caught up in the thrall of delicious deviance and page-turning scandal, go on, get stuck in.
Sarah McIntyre
A great story with that real gothic sense of macabre... almost pantomime with horror... I laughed all through it.
Nine to Noon Show (Radio New Zealand)
Christopher William's style is similar to Roald Dahl ... hilarious
The List

Tales from Schwartzgarten