We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

These Violent Delights

Buy Now:

Audiobook Downloadable / ISBN-13: 9781529344516

Price: £19.99

ON SALE: 11th March 2021

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Fantasy

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

Perfect for fans of The Last Magician and Descendant of the Crane, this heart-stopping, New York Times bestselling debut is an imaginative Romeo and Juliet retelling set in 1920s Shanghai, with rival gangs and a monster in the depths of the Huangpu River.

<font size="+1“>
In glittering Shanghai, a monster awakens . . .

A blood feud between two gangs runs the streets red, leaving the city in the grip of chaos. At its heart is eighteen-year-old Juliette Cai, a former flapper who has returned to assume her role as the proud heir of the Scarlet Gang – a network of criminals far above the law. Their only rivals in power are the White Flowers, who have fought the Scarlets for generations. And behind every move is their heir, Roma Montagov, Juliette’s first love . . . and first betrayal.

But when gangsters on both sides show signs of instability culminating in clawing their own throats out, the people start to whisper. Of a contagion, a madness. Of a monster in the shadows. As the deaths stack up, Juliette and Roma must set their guns – and grudges – aside and work together, for if they can’t stop this mayhem, then there will be no city left for either to rule.


‘Heady, smart, and vicious’ Tessa Gratton, author of The Queens of Innis Lear

‘Deliciously dark’
Natasha Ngan, New York Times bestselling author of Girls of Paper and Fire

‘Dark and beautiful’ Emiko Jean, author of Empress of all Seasons

‘A terrific, deliciously unputdownable read’ June Hur, author of The Silence of Bones

(P)2020 Tantor Media

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

These Violent Delights