Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Silken Rose

The Silken Rose

‘Powerful, gripping and beautifully told. A historical novel that will resonate with the #MeToo generation’ – Kate Furnivall, author of The Liberation

For fans of Karen Maitland, Alison Weir and Philipa Gregory, the first in a brand new trilogy from Carol McGrath. Featuring Ailenor of Provence, a courageous and fiercely loyal medieval queen, The Silken Rose will transport you to a world of intrigue and betrayal in the royal court.

1236. Beautiful Ailenor of Provence, cultured and intelligent, is only thirteen when she marries Henry III. Aware of the desperate importance of providing heirs to secure the throne from those who would snatch it away, she is ruthless in her dealings with Henry’s barons.

As conflict escalates between them, Ailenor’s shrewd and clever Savoyard uncles come to support her but her growing political power is threatened when Henry’s half-siblings also arrive at court.

Henry and Ailenor become embroiled in an unpopular war to protect Gascony, last English territory on the continent, sparking conflict with warrior knight, Simon de Montfort, the King’s seneschal. Ailenor, desperate to protect Gascony for her son, strives to treat with France and bring peace to Gascony.

Caught in a web of treachery and deceit, ‘she-wolf’ Ailenor’s courage is tested to the limit. Can she find the strength to control her destiny and protect her all that she holds dear?
Read More

Genre:

On Sale: 23rd July 2020

Price: £9.99

ISBN-13: 9781786157270

Reviews

Powerful, gripping and beautifully told. A historical novel that will resonate with the #MeToo generation
Kate Furnivall, author of The Liberation
The scents, colours and intrigues of a medieval court provide a fitting background to this gripping tale of a much maligned queen
Henrietta Leyser, English Historian
Dives into 13th Century England with the relish of a peregrine's stoop. With the tastiest morsels of quail and the tiniest golden embroidery stitch, the novel steeps the reader in the life of a medieval court
Joanna Hickson, author of The Tudor Crown
A very well-researched tale of a fascinating period
Joanna Courtney, author of Blood Queen
A love of medieval history shines through on every page. A feast for the senses and highly recommended to lovers of well-written historical biography
Deborah Swift, author of Pleasing Mr Pepys