We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Dark, fierce and raw, Notes on Heartbreak is a love story told in reverse, starting with a devastating break-up.

As Annie Lord deals with her broken heart, the book constantly revisits the past, from the moment she first fell in love, to the months that saw the slow erosion of a bond five years in the making. We feel Annie’s pain with her, join her as she begins to heal, and cringe or laugh in recognition of our own experience as Annie charts her attempts to move on, from disastrous rebound sex to sending ill-advised nudes, stalking your ex’s new girlfriend on Instagram and the sharp indignity of being ghosted.

This stunning exploration of love and heartbreak from cult journalist and Vogue columnist Annie Lord, is so much more than a book about one singular break-up. it is an unflinchingly honest yet lyrical meditation on the simultaneous joy and pain of being in love that will resonate with anyone who has ever nursed a broken heart. It’s a book about the best and worst of love: the euphoric and the painful, the beautiful and the messy.

Perfect for fans of Everything I Know About Love, How to Heal a Broken Heart, Conversations on Love and Three Women.