We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

A Mortal Curiosity (Inspector Ben Ross Mystery 2)

ebook / ISBN-13: 9780755372393

Price: £8.99

ON SALE: 7th January 2010

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

Select a format:

Paperback
A time of grief turns gruesome for one young woman…

Lizzie Martin and Inspector Ben Ross must uncover the truth behind a grisly crime in A Mortal Curiosity, the second novel in Ann Granger’s wonderfully atmospheric Victorian mystery series. The perfect read for fans of Anne Perry and Sherlock Holmes.

‘Ann Granger has a keen eye and ear for the social nuances of the times. Roll on volume three in this entertaining series’ – Oxford Times
Lizzie Martin, lady’s companion, has been sent from London to the New Forest to comfort a young woman whose baby has tragically died. A sad enough task, but things take an even darker turn when a rat-catcher is found murdered in the garden, and the young woman is discovered beside the body, crying and covered in blood. Not knowing where else to turn, Lizzie calls upon her friend Inspector Ben Ross from Scotland Yard to solve the horrific crime.

What readers are saying about A Mortal Curiosity:

‘An absorbing read. There is a shocking secret at the heart of the novel, which I found quite heart-breaking’

‘Ann Granger combines the ability to fast forward her plot while never hurrying the background details which vividly evoke the sights, sounds and smells of Victorian London and Hampshire

‘Hard to put it down – a real page-turner’

Reviews

Praise for Ann Granger's previous crime novels: 'Characterisation, as ever with Granger, is sharp and astringent'
The Times
'The plot is neat and ingenious, the characters rounded and touchingly credible, and the writing of this darkly humorous but humane and generous novel fluent, supple and a pleasure to read'
Ham and High
'The reader can expect a treat. Lively, different and fun'
Yorkshire Post
'Ann Granger's skill with character together with her sprightly writing make the most of the story....she is on to another winner'
Birmingham Post
'One of crime fiction's most engaging heroines'
Yorkshire Post