We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

‘A chilling atmosphere of skulls, séances, secrets and hysteria’ The Times

Set a guard upon your soul . . .

When Nathaniel Kerner takes up his new position as a mad-doctor at Crakethorne Manor, the proprietor, more interested in phrenology and his growing collection of skulls than his patients’ minds, hands over the care of his most interesting case.

Mrs Victoria Harleston’s husband accuses her of hysteria and says he will pay any price to see her well. But she accuses him of something far more terrible . . .

Nathaniel becomes increasingly obsessed with Victoria and her condition: is she truly delusional or is she hiding secrets that should never be uncovered?

‘A Gothic masterpiece’ The Lady

Reviews

Eerie and unsettling . . . Alison Littlewood has crafted a sublime blend of the psychological and the supernatural
Starburst
Alison has been churning out intriguing and clever chilling stories that always manage to raise my heartbeat
Upcoming4.me on Alison Littlewood
There's an amazing sense of place and time in this novel, as Littlewood perfectly captures the literary style, attitudes, and class consciousness of Victorian England
Publishers Weekly on The Hidden People
Hypnotic and intelligent with buckets of atmosphere . . . Littlewood expertly weaves themes of misogyny and mythology into a psychological page-turner that feels both familiar and fresh
SFX
The atmosphere Alison Littlewood conjures up in The Hidden People is absorbing and there's a real sense of foreboding, you feel the fairies might show themselves at any moment.
Irish News
Alison Littlewood is one of the brightest stars in the horror genre at the moment . . . The Hidden People is impeccably written, quiet, evocative horror. It's yet another must buy from Littlewood
This is Horror
[An] enjoyable excursion . . . gripping
The Sunday Times
Excellent . . . she creates a chilling atmosphere of skulls, séances, secrets and hysteria
Antonia Senior, The Times
A rare treat! I love the idea of novels about madness but it is rare that I find one so well written . . . a fantastic novel and highly recommended!
Life Has A Funny Way of Sneaking Up On You
An excellent, chilling, autumn read, all about the dangers of power, obsession, and guilt, this is sure to be another hit
Blue Book Balloon
Littlewood's dark and gothic style had me mesmerised from the very first page . . . a deeply compelling, fascinating novel, written in a way that had me, the reader, mesmerised also.
Book Babe Review
A great seasonal treat
Becky Lea, SciFiNow
A book which I know I will want to re-read time and time again . . . a brilliant example of historical fiction
The Bookish Bundle
A Gothic masterpiece
The Lady
[A] deliciously atmospheric psychological thriller . . . will appeal to fans of Susan Hill and Wilkie Collins
BookRiot
A masterclass in confusion
Marie O’Regan, SciFiBulletin
For those who enjoy the growing genre of dark Victorian Gothic fiction, this will prove a welcome addition, wrapped about with fogs and spirits and dangerous beauty
The Idle Woman
The Crow Garden flows smoothly, mixing atmosphere and language with effective precision . . . by far Littlewood's best, and by the looks of it, she's only going to get better.
British Fantasy Society
An absorbing tale that plays adroitly with the concepts of reality and trust
CrimeReads