We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Announcing the Future Bookshelf Class of 2018

We’re delighted to announce that The Future Bookshelf has acquired three books from authors who submitted through our first ever open submission scheme. Chosen from a total of over 750 submissions, all three authors and their works went through the normal acquisition process before being offered contracts and signing with their respective publishers.

The three authors are: Eleni KyriacouElizabeth Okoh, and Robert Hamberger, and their works were acquired by Cicely Aspinall (editor at Hodder & Stoughton), Francine Toon (commissioning editor at Hodder & Stoughton) and Kate Craigie (editor at John Murray) respectively. Eleni Kyriacou is represented by Niki Chang of The Good Agency. All authors were given one-on-one advice and information regarding agent representation.

Nick Davies, chair of The Future Bookshelf said:“We’ve been overwhelmed by the response to The Future Bookshelf from our colleagues, from the wider industry and, of course, from the 757 debut writers who submitted their work. It has been a privilege to read so many fresh and diverse new voices. Congratulations to Eleni, Elizabeth and Robert. This is just the start for The Future Bookshelf and these three writers embody what a more diverse, inclusive and exciting place publishing can be.”

Visit The Future Bookshelf to find out more.