We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.


Formally published as The Octopus


Tess Little’s The Ninth Guest is a locked-room mystery like no other . . .

We believed he had died from an overdose. There was no reason to suspect otherwise . . .

When Elspeth is invited to her ex-husband Richard’s fiftieth birthday party, she’s expecting a star-studded event for the famous British film director, full of A-listers and hangers-on. But she arrives to find just seven other carefully selected guests in attendance.

A surreal evening ensues, orchestrated by the charming yet manipulative host, culminating in what will surely become a night to remember . . .

Because by morning, Richard will be dead, and every guest a suspect.



Very intriguingHeat, Book of the Week

‘Tess Little is a modern Agatha Christie, setting up her nine suspects, locking them in a sprawling Los Angeles mansion, and knocking them down one by one’ Tanen Jones, author of The Better Liar

‘A unique locked-room mystery . . . Perfect for fans of Lucy Foley‘ Wendy Walker, bestselling author of Don’t Look for Me

Reviews

A novel you will easily devour in just a few sittings, it's unexpected and immensely gripping, leaving you with lots to consider.
Selcouth
Dark, compelling Hollywood intrigue and a diverse cast of well-drawn characters make The Ninth Guest a unique locked-room mystery that readers will simply devour! It's perfect for fans of Lucy Foley
Wendy Walker, bestselling author of DON'T LOOK FOR ME
Tess Little is a modern Agatha Christie, setting up her nine suspects, locking them in a sprawling Los Angeles mansion, and knocking them down one by one over the course of a decadent, stomach-turning dinner party. The Ninth Guest kept me guessing until the very last
Tanen Jones, author of THE BETTER LIAR
With a knowing satirical eye, Tess Little skillfully weaves a page-turner full of satisfying twists and turns
Kyle McCarthy, author of EVERYONE KNOWS HOW MUCH I LOVE YOU
With skewering intensity and taut, unsettling prose, Tess Little plunges us into the kaleidoscopic glamour of Hollywood, where the eccentric birthday party of a brilliant, sadistic director forces the eruption of long-buried pain. Timely, smart and satisfying
Paula McLain, bestselling author of THE PARIS WIFE
Elspeth's emotional journey both grips and gratifies. Little is a writer to watch
Publisher's Weekly