Top

We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Rosewater

On sale

20th September 2018

Price: £19.99

The Kitschies Red Tentacle, 2019

Select a format

Selected: Audiobook Downloadable / ISBN-13: 9781405541152

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

***Winner of the Arthur C. Clarke Award***

Winner of the inaugural Nommo Award for Best Novel, Africa’s first award for speculative fiction
Shortlisted for the Kitschie Award for Best Novel

John W. Campbell Award finalist for Best Science Fiction Novel

‘A magnificent tour de force’ Adrian Tchaikovsky

‘Mind-expanding and utterly addictive’ Mark Haddon

‘Smart. Gripping. Fabulous!’ Ann Leckie

‘Mesmerising’ M. R. Carey

‘An astonishing book. I wish I’d written it’ Lauren Beukes

Rosewater is a town on the edge. A community formed around the edges of a mysterious alien biodome, its residents comprise the hopeful, the hungry and the helpless – people eager for a glimpse inside the dome or a taste of its rumoured healing powers.

Kaaro is a government agent with a criminal past. He has seen inside the biodome, and doesn’t care to again – but when something begins killing off others like himself, Kaaro must defy his masters to search for an answer, facing his dark history and coming to a realisation about a horrifying future.

Rosewater is the start of a vibrant and compellingly told trilogy by one of science fiction’s most engaging new voices – perfect for fans of N. K. Jemisin’s The Fifth Season, Ann Leckie’s Ancillary Justice and Jeff Vandermeer’s Southern Reach trilogy.

Reviews

Fonda Lee, author of JADE CITY
A strange and unsettling story of psychics, conspiracy, and alien invasion unlike anything I've read before. Masterfully constructed, brimming with ideas and slowly unfolding mystery, Rosewater hurt my brain in the best of ways
Mike Brooks
Rosewater asks you uncomfortable questions about what is right, what is wrong, what you'll tolerate, and what is human
SEATTLE REVIEW OF BOOKS
Breathtakingly smart prose
Adrian Tchaikovsky, author of CHILDREN OF TIME
A magnificent tour de force, skilfully written and full of original and disturbing ideas
Tasha Suri, author of EMPIRE OF SAND
A fiercely weird, breathtaking biopunk tale of alien invasion, Rosewater is ambitious and smart and very, very cool
Sam J. Miller
You've never been anywhere like Rosewater. And you've never seen an alien invasion like this. Tade Thompson will take you someplace incredible, full of unforgettable characters and deep insight. Rosewater cements his place as one of our our boldest and most exciting new writers
Booklist
In addition to providing a gritty and intricately plotted science fiction mystery, Thompson's opening of the Wormwood Trilogy considers what it means to be human
Mark Haddon author of THE CURIOUS INCIDENT OF THE DOG IN THE NIGHT-TIME
Mind-expanding and utterly addictive
M. R. Carey, author of THE GIRL WITH ALL THE GIFTS
Mesmerising. There are echoes of Neuromancer and Arrival in here, but this astonishing debut is beholden to no-one
STYLIST (featured as a top ten pick for September)
This series is going to be addictive. See you on the other side
Ann Leckie
Smart. Gripping. Fabulous!
i newspaper
Hard-edged and utterly compelling
SFX
Hugely satisfying . . . a darkly beautiful gem
Dave Hutchinson
As strange, vivid and intricate as the alien biosphere at its heart, Rosewater is a fabulous book and Tade Thompson is a writer of enormous heart and talent. Just brilliant
BookPage
Perfect for fans of William Gibson's NEUROMANCER, this twisty, captivating page-turner explores the fragility of the mind and how memory constructs identity
Lauren Beukes
An astonishing book. I wish I'd written it