We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Ancestor

ebook / ISBN-13: 9781848947238

Price: £8.99

ON SALE: 19th August 2010

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Thriller / Suspense

Select a format:

Paperback
Scott Sigler is the voice in modern horror – and ANCESTOR is the book that will have you checking under the bed… and starting at every bump in the night.

Cancer. Obesity. The flu. Old age. They can all kill you – and modern medical science hasn’t ever found a cure.

Until today. On a remote island in the Great Lakes, an unusual group of scientists are using extinct DNA to create the perfect organ donor. It could save millions of lives and win Dr Claus Rhumkorrf the Nobel Prize he craves.

The donor animal is genetically the ancestor of all species on the planet – but Nature wiped it out two hundred million years ago.

Rhumkorrf and his team are about to find out why.

Reviews

As a super-science horror novel in the vein of Jurassic Park, ANCESTOR is a hoot. The suspense is electric, the setting is beautifully described and the science appears to be quite plausibly discussed and realized
<i>Specusphere</i>
A masterwork of action-fueled horror, brimming with hard science, iconic characters and carnage-hungry critters. Welcome to Sigler's laboratory of fear.
J.C. Hutchins
Sizzles with tension . . . Danger and drama mix with cutting-edge science to produce a top-notch, action-packed adventure. If you think Scott Sigler just writes horror, you're dead wrong. This guy is one heck of a thriller writer.
Steve Berry
From ultra high-tech labs of bleeding-edge biotech to snow-blinded islands haunted by our own genetic past, Sigler takes you for a page-turning ride into real fear and adventure
David Wellington, author of <i>Monster Island</i> and <i>Frostbite</i>
Michael Crichton has a worthy successor in Scott Sigler . . . ANCESTOR takes thriller and science fiction conventions and slams them together to make something new and fascinating. It moves fast, takes corners at speeds that would throw anyone else off, and keeps sucking you in with characters you actually give a damn about . . . first-class work.
Simon R Green, <i>New York Times</i> bestselling author of the <i>Nightside</i> and <i>Secret Histories</i> series
If you can't imagine how genomes, stem cells, and Triassic Period paleontology can become the basis for a page turner that's both cinematically gory and gallows-humor funny, read ANCESTOR and watch Sigler perform his alchemy . . . ANCESTOR isn't science fiction. It's science acid-trip pulp-horror, an irresistible genre unique to Scott Sigler's wonderfully warped mind.
Carl Zimmer, award-winning science writer and author of <i>Parasite Rex</i>
A standout bloodbath adventure; a continuous assault on the senses that leaves you breathless from riding each wave of action as it swells into the next.
Summer Brooks - Producer for Slice of SciFi and FarPoint Media
The sort of thriller that will bury itself into your brain, making you think about it long after you've put the book down
<i>MC Reviews</i>
As a super-science horror novel in the vein of Jurassic Park, ANCESTOR is a hoot. The suspense is electric, the setting is beautifully described and the science appears to be quite plausibly discussed and realized
<i>Specusphere</i>
Fun, creepy, and impossible to stop reading, ANCESTOR is the rare thriller that's based on cutting-edge science and is entirely possible. Long after you're done with the book, you'll still be looking over your shoulder. Just in case.
Phil Plait, author of <i>Death From the Skies</i> and creator of BadAstronomy.com
Tremendously entertaining . . . the premise is thought-provoking, Sigler populates the novel with a lively cast of characters, and the action is virtually nonstop. If you combined Michael Crichton's scientific exploration with Matthew Reilly's lightning-fast pace and colorful characters, you might get something that feels like this book, which, incidentally, would make a great movie
<i>Booklist</i>
Relentless and suspenseful . . . a timely tale of science run amok that compels reading until the final page
<i>Publishers Weekly</i>