We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Paperback / ISBN-13: 9781472293374

Price: £8.99

ON SALE: 3rd March 2022

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

Will she ever find the happiness she deserves?

In A Rose Among Thorns, The Sunday Times bestselling author Rosie Goodwin weaves a captivating historical saga of a troubled family and the power of love and friendship. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Cathy Sharp.


Despite losing her mother at a young age, Sassy has grown up surrounded by love: although poor, she is happy. So Sassy is devastated when her father marries wealthy widow Elizabeth Bonner. Social climber Elizabeth despairs of a step-daughter who is more at ease with servants than those above stairs, and is jealous of Sassy’s growing beauty which threatens to outshine her own daughter.

Unwelcome and out of place in this unfamiliar world, Sassy often escapes to her old home on Tuttle Hill and the company of her childhood friends, brothers Thomas and Jack Mallabone. But the trio’s bond is threatened by the consequences of her blind adoration for wayward Thomas, much to the dismay of Jack, who has long worshipped Sassy in secret…

What readers are saying about A Rose Among Thorns:

‘With skillful application of the craft at which she excels, Rosie has produced yet another certain winner. An absorbing tale depicting with great accuracy the nostalgia of bygone times, it evokes warmth, laughter and tears linked by a storyline that defies you to put it down… A wonderful story from a supremely gifted writer

‘A natural born storyteller… the trouble I have is the stories are never long enough. This novel had me captivated from start to finish’

Reviews

A wonderful heroine, plucky, determined and warm-hearted. A believable and compelling read
Jennie Felton
Rosie writes such heart-warming sagas
Lyn Andrews
The new Catherine Cookson
Coventry Evening Telegraph
A heart-throbber of a story from Goodwin that puts many other so-called emotional blockbusters in the shade
Northern Echo
A touching and powerful new novel from a wonderful writer
Bookseller
Goodwin has the enviable knack of putting the past into focus with wonderfully warm and credible characters, lively dialogue and fascinating period detail of everyday life. A Rose Among Thorns is another moving and inspirational story from a writer who knows how to tug at the heart strings
Lancashire Evening Post
An absorbing story in the grand tradition of the best saga authors
Margaret Dickinson