We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

A spellbinding historical novel of obsession, the lure of fame, and the power of illusion, perfect for fans of The Binding, Bone China and The Lost Ones



The lure of fame

Sold by her father to a ‘Professor of Ghosts’, Lily Bell dreams of a career on the Victorian stage. But Erasmus Salt is promising his audience not mere theatre, but a glimpse of the spirit world. And Lily is to be his ghost.

The power of illusion

Obsessed with perfection, Erasmus goes to extreme lengths to ensure his illusion is complete. When Lily finds her own obituary in the paper, and then her own headstone in the cemetery, she realises that she is trapped.

The danger of obsession

But Erasmus is haunted by more than one betrayal – and as the curtain falls, Lily’s fate is soon to become even darker…

***

Readers are entranced by The Unforgetting . . .


‘This haunting Victorian novel weaves a spellbinding web of deluded dreams and dark deceptionsEssie Fox

Evocative and atmospheric, The Unforgetting is a macabre tale of dark obsessions and deadly ambitions, where nothing is quite what it seems’ Anita Frank, author of The Lost Ones

This Victorian gothic fantasy . . . drips with menace Daily Mail

‘A sinister, fast-paced gothic taleCaitlin Davies, author of Daisy Belle

‘This is dark, gothic historical fiction at its best. A tale of obsession, control, illusion and mystery in the Victorian era. Beautifully written, chilling and haunting‘ The Bookwormery

‘This is a book of magic, of women’s strength, of the power of love . . . a splendid and brilliantly paced novel’ Northern Reader Blog

‘A story of obsession and haunting illusions that will leave the reader chilled to the bone . . . this book entraps you [and] bewitches you‘ Bunny’s Pause Blog

‘From the very first pages, Black’s novel grabs our attention, drawing us into a beautifully evoked, sensory world . . . highly recommended‘ The Literary Shed

Reviews

A feast of Victorian gothic is served with relish in this dark tale
The People
Evocative and atmospheric, The Unforgetting is a macabre tale of dark obsessions and deadly ambitions, where nothing is quite what it seems
Anita Frank, author of THE LOST ONES
This Victorian gothic fantasy offers . . . an atmosphere that drips with menace
Daily Mail
A sinister, fast-paced gothic tale
Caitlin Davies, author of DAISY BELLE
A story of obsession and haunting illusions that will leave the reader chilled to the bone . . . this book entraps you [and] bewitches you
Bunny's Pause Blog
Deliciously haunting Gothic fiction
i newspaper
From the very first pages, Black's novel grabs our attention, drawing us into a beautifully evoked, sensory world . . . highly recommended
The Literary Shed
This haunting Victorian novel weaves a spellbinding web of deluded dreams and dark deceptions
Essie Fox
This is a book of magic, of women's strength, of the power of love . . . a splendid and brilliantly paced novel
Northern Reader Blog
Lose yourself in this atmospheric tale
Best
A chilling, atmospheric page-turner
My Weekly
A lively, pacy read
The Times