We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

The Quickening

The Quickening

An infamous seance. A house burdened by grief. A secret that can no longer stay buried.

England, 1925. Louisa Drew lost her husband in the First World War and her six-year-old twin sons in the Spanish Flu epidemic of 1918. Newly re-married and seven months pregnant, Louisa is asked by her employer to travel to Clewer Hall in Sussex to photograph the contents of the house for auction. Desperate for money after falling on hard times, she accepts the commission.

On arrival, she learns Clewer Hall was host to an infamous séance in 1896, the consequences of which still haunt the family. Before the Clewer’s leave England for good, the lady of the house has asked those who attended the original séance to recreate the evening. Louisa soon becomes embroiled in the strange happenings of the house, unravelling the longheld secrets of what happened that night thirty years before… and discovers her own fate is entwined with Clewer Hall’s.

An exquisitely crafted mystery that invites the reader into the crumbling Clewer Hall to help unlock its secrets alongside the unforgettable Louisa Drew.

For fans of The Silent Companions, The Little Stranger and The Familiars.
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

On Sale: 20th August 2020

Price: £16.99

ISBN-13: 9781409192176

Reviews

Utterly brilliant... full of secrets and deliciously creepy, I raced through it
Lisa Hall, author of The Perfect Couple
It's twisty and atmospheric, seriously creepy, and has an inspiring central character I was rooting for.
Cressida McLaughlin
A powerful, spine-tingling, beautifully written gothic mystery full of real, complex characters, smart, dark twists and utterly immersive historical detail.
Hayley Webster
A spooky treat, which had me turning the pages faster and faster
Cass Green, author of In a Cottage in a Wood
A creepy, evocative mystery
Heat
An historical novel dripping with menace, featuring a sympathetic heroine, seances, and family secrets-there's so much to love about The Quickening!
Shari Lapena, author of The End of Her
If you like gothic mystery, buckle up! This atmospheric read has it all
Woman magazine