We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Lucy learns that life is both kind and cruel as she settles into her new South London home. Filled with humour and warmth, Summer in the City is a must-read novel for fans of Ruth Hogan’s The Keeper of Lost Things and Joanna Cannon’s The Trouble with Goats and Sheep.

‘A funny, sad, charming and unpredictable novel’ – Daily Telegraph

Lucy White can’t quite believe what’s happened to her happy, ordinary life. Ending up homeless – not to mention husbandless – has come as an almighty shock. All she wants to do is lie low for a while, but when she arrives in a quiet street in South London she’s in for a surprise.

The residents of Farewell Square are anything but quiet. There’s a housewife with a secret that needs to be shared, a publicist whose behaviour outside office hours would shock his clients and an artist who can’t seem to control her lodgers. They’re as intrigued by Lucy as she is by them, and as she’s drawn into their midst, she realises that life can be kind as well as cruel. And that no one has to be lonely if they don’t want to be.

What readers are saying about Summer in the City:

‘The key strengths to the story and the writing is the emotion driven through the circumstances of the plot and the ability for you to move from laughter to tears and back again in a single page

Love and sorrow of many kinds leavened with a good dose of humour, and a very satisfying conclusion

‘A real page-turner

Reviews

Praise for Pauline McLynn: 'Scandal, infidelity, secrets and soufflé are all explored with a healthy dollop of humour
Express
Hilariously funny follow-up to Something for the Weekend. With the perfect balance of humour, adventure and romance, Pauline McLynn makes crafting witty, fast-paced fiction look like a doddle
OK!
A surprisingly gentle, relaxed story... confident, assured
The Times
Packed with cheeky sarcasm and wit
Company
An upbeat, chatty novel
Daily Mail
If this book receives the critical judgement it deserves, it will forever bury the ghost of a demented housekeeper and proclaim the emergence of one of the most interesting Irish writers in years
Sunday Business Post
Funny and snappy...will sit well on a shelf next to such writers as Cathy Kelly, Morag Prunty and Marian Keyes
Sunday Tribune