We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

ebook / ISBN-13: 9780755350391

Price: £9.99

ON SALE: 30th October 2012

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

Select a format:

Paperback

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

Can Hugh Corbett discover the identity of a killer determined to remain unknown?

The Treason of the Ghosts is Paul Doherty’s twelfth mystery featuring medieval sleuth Hugh Corbett is a thrilling mystery of revenge and murder. Perfect for fans of Susanna Gregory and Robin Hobb.


‘The book is a pleasure to read and written in an uncompromising prose, the plot developed with intriguing twists and turns. Doherty’s deep understanding of the period and the nitty-gritty of historical detail are to the fore without intruding on the rhythm of the plot. Superb entertainment’ – Historical Novels Review

Five years ago in the village of Melford, a local lord, Sir Roger Chapeley, was executed for a spate of vicious murders. But now other young girls have been violated and garrotted, and the dead lord’s son, Maurice, insists that a miscarriage of justice has taken place. As if in support of his assertion, someone is exacting their own kind of justice as, one by one, the leaders of the jury which sent the lord to the gibbet are brutally murdered. Edward of England sends his chief clerk, Sir Hugh Corbett, to Melford to discover the truth. Seeking connections between the deaths, Corbett faces the difficult task of unveiling the secrets of a distrustful community who it seems increasingly likely are the victims of a serial murderer. But who then is killing the jurors? One thing is certain, whoever the killer, or killers, may be, they will do anything to stop their identity being revealed…

What readers are saying about Paul Doherty:
This story captured me from the moment I started until the very last sentence’
‘Another great book from a great author. All his books transport you to another time and place
‘Paul Doherty’s depictions of medieval England are truly outstanding

What's Inside

Read More Read Less