We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

ebook / ISBN-13: 9780755398348

Price: £4.99

ON SALE: 27th November 2014

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

A powerful and passionate story of forbidden love set in Medieval England…

Immersed in the colours and drama of medieval life, Paul Doherty’s richly evocative novel, The Love Knot, combines fact and fiction to tell one of history’s greatest but most secret love affairs. Perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory and Jean Plaidy.


Spring, 1297. Recently widowed Joanna of Acre, loving daughter of Edward I, is pleased at her father’s unexpected visit. But Edward has heard a rumour of an inappropriate friendship between Joanna, still officially in widow’s weeds, and penniless commoner Ralph Monthermer. Edward, believing he has proof of a clandestine affair, immures Joanna in a nunnery and imprisons Ralph within Bristol Castle. Henry Trokelowe, Edward’s clerk, stops him killing Ralph, who is allowed to live while the cold, almost passionless Henry investigates. Ralph and Joanna’s only chance of survival now lies in Henry’s hands, but how can a confirmed bachelor even begin to understand the all-consuming passion binding them?

What readers are saying about Paul Doherty:
The sounds and smells of the period seem to waft from the pages of [Paul Doherty’s] books’
Fascinating
Five stars

What's Inside

Read More Read Less