We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

ebook / ISBN-13: 9780755395644

Price: £4.99

ON SALE: 6th June 2013

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

What do you do when everyone is a suspect?

Paul Doherty writes a medieval mystery shrouded in secrets in The Book of Shadows, the fourth novel to feature physician and sleuth Kathryn Swinbrooke. Perfect for fans of Susanna Gregory and Michael Jecks.


The year is 1471. Shortly after the murderous takeover of the throne by Edward IV and Elizabeth Woodville, blackmailers thrive by challenging detractors of the new king. The ugliest threat to the people of Canterbury is the magus Tenebrae, who controls the Book of Shadows – a grimoire of spells and magic containing secrets about the dead and the living. When Tenebrae is murdered, physician and apothecary Kathryn Swinbrooke is summoned to solve the crime, or else risk the transfer of her love, Colum Murtagh, far away to London. However, the secrets stretch all the way to the King and Queen themselves, and everyone is a suspect – especially Tenebrae’s last visitors, a nervous group of goldsmiths from London. Tenebrae is dead but the Book of Shadows still exerts his power, and its new owners will die for it. As the suspects fall victim, one by one, to violent deaths, Swinbrooke most solve the mystery before the Book of Shadows closes on them all.

What readers are saying about The Book of Shadows:
‘The sense of menace, depth of characterization and interesting cast of characters make this book, and the series, a brilliant read’
Twists and turns throughout [with] interesting, colourful characters
Excellent story, couldn’t put it down. Kept me guessing right to the end’

What's Inside

Read More Read Less