We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

ebook / ISBN-13: 9780755370344

Price: £7.99

ON SALE: 30th October 2012

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

Select a format:

Paperback

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

Can Hugh Corbett restore peace before further blood is shed?

In Nightshade, the fascinating sixteenth novel in the Hugh Corbett series, Corbett must travel to Essex in search of stolen treasure. Perfect for fans of Ellis Peters and Robin Hobb.


January 1304 and Hugh Corbett, devoted emissary of King Edward I, has been charged with yet another dangerous mission. Scrope, an unscrupulous manor lord, has reneged on his promise to hand over a priceless ornate cross he stole from the Templars during the Crusades. Furthermore, he has massacred as heretics fourteen members of a religious order, whose corpses now hang in the woods near Mistleham in Essex. The King, determined to restore order sends Corbett to Mistleham in his stead. But as Corbett reaches the troubled village, it becomes obvious that the situation has worsened. A mysterious bowman has appeared, killing townspeople at random. Is one of the Brethren responsible, or have the Templars arrived to wreak revenge? Can Corbett restore Mistleham to peace, and return the treasure to the King, before further blood is shed?

What readers are saying about Nightshade:
‘A gripping mystery, another page turner of the first order’
‘Not only is the medieval age recreated, but a gripping story is told. Doherty is just superb here’
‘An entirely entertaining and engrossing story’

What's Inside

Read More Read Less