We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

ebook / ISBN-13: 9780755350315

Price: £9.99

ON SALE: 30th October 2012

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

Select a format:

Paperback

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

Hugh Corbett is drawn into the dangerous disputes for the Scottish throne…

Crown in Darkness is the second gripping novel of murder and mayhem in Paul Doherty’s acclaimed Hugh Corbett series. Perfect for fans of Robin Hobb and Michael Jecks.


1286 and on a storm-ridden night King Alexander III of Scotland is riding across the Firth of Forth to meet his beautiful French bride Yolande. He never reaches his final destination as his horse mysteriously slips, sending them both crashing to their death on cruel rocks. The Scottish throne is left vacant of any real heir and immediately the great European princes and the powerful nobles of Alexander’s kingdom start fighting for the glittering prize.
The Chancellor of England, Burnell, ever mindful of the interest his king, Edward I, has in Scotland, sends his faithful clerk, Hugh Corbett, to report on the chaotic situation at the Scottish court. Concerned that a connection exists between the king’s death and those now desirous of taking the Scottish throne, Corbett is drawn into a maelstrom of intrigue, conspiracy and danger. Will Corbett be able to discover the truth behind the King’s death?

What readers are saying about Paul Doherty:
A joy to read
‘[Paul Doherty] never lets the reader down
Five stars

What's Inside

Read More Read Less