Top

We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

The End of Us

On sale

22nd June 2023

Price: £16.99

Select a format

Selected: Hardcover / ISBN-13: 9781529422009

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

The spectacular new standalone thriller from the author of the critically acclaimed Frankie Sheehan novels

‘Brilliantly paced with constant twists and turns’ Woman & Home
‘A real rollercoaster’ Prima

It all started to go wrong the day the Wrights moved in next door

Myles and Lana Butler live on a gorgeous new development in Wimbledon, leaning on a mortgage that is just within reach. When one of Myles’ investments fails they are bound to lose everything.

Gabriel and Holly Wright have just moved in next door. The Wrights are sophisticated, ambitious and apparently very wealthy. At an after-dinner drink with their new neighbours, Myles and Lana share their worries and a solution is suggested between the couples. Life Insurance fraud. For a cut of the pay out, the Wrights would help them.

No one thought they were being serious. No one agreed they’d actually go through with it. And no one mentioned it would involve murder.

Then, one night, Lana doesn’t come home.

Praise for The End of Us
Witty, dark, unpredictable, well-written and with great insight into the darker side of human nature. A book to be devoured in one sitting’ Karen Hamilton

‘It reminded me of Hitchcock at his best. Tense, twisty, dark and so unpredictable. My favourite Olivia Kiernan book yet!’ Claire Douglas

‘The End Of Us is that rare book – beautifully written and impossible to put down. A dark, complex and nuanced thriller’ Fiona Cummins

‘I loved it – easily Kiernan’s best yet’ Cara Hunter

‘I absolutely loved The End of Us. So clever, so twisty and so moreish. It was terrifically compelling. And that last line. Oh my. That is how a book should end’ John Marrs

‘Dark and twisty and kept me guessing right to the end. A superbly written tangled web
of utter brilliance’ Joanna Cannon

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Reviews

Irish Independent
Strong characterisation, an unpredictable plot and an unexpected conclusion will keep readers gripped. Kiernan has proved she won't be confined to one genre and we look forward to what she does next.
Bella
A gripping thriller
Woman's Weekly
Beware, this psychological thriller is definitely a sit-up-all-night read
Irish Examiner
It's a dark, twisted and satisfying read, which never lets up its pace. It's unpredictable, ingenious and brilliantly written. Read it.
The Tablet
Hitchcock and Highsmith would both have been proud if they'd written suburban horror-story The End of Us . . .You won't be able to stop reading. Each unfolding episode is unbearable. A bravura thriller.
Westmeath Examiner
Kiernan proves she's every bit as good at depicting the dark side of our interior lives as she is with her rollercoaster police procedurals.
Telegraph (Best Books of 2023)
Tom Ripley would see the narrator of this deliciously Highsmithian chiller as a soulmate. . . .
Ian Rankin
I really enjoyed this! Switchback Highsmith
Jo Callaghan
I couldn't stop reading. Perfect for fans of Louise Candlish and Patricia Highsmith
C S Green
An unputdownable, gulp-in-one-sitting, utterly brilliant read
Steph Broadribb
This super chilling, heart-stoppingly suspenseful psychological thriller is not to be missed
Sam Blake
Dark and compelling, with complex relationships that reveal shocking twists, I was sucked into the world of Belvedere Court and its wealthy inhabitants, where the gloss of respectability is only a veneer.
Harriet Tyce
Compelling
Literary Review
Kiernan's greatest achievement is to make Myles such a sympathetic character that his increasingly violent actions seem almost sensible.
Irish Times
Kiernan has delivered a standalone of style and substance.
Woman's Own
A nerve-jangling thriller.
Daily Mail
If you love the old-style Hollywood glamour of films like Double Indemnity, this domestic noir tale, set in the contemporary opulence of a luxury Wimbledon housing estate, will do the trick.
Claire Douglas
Absolutely loved The End Of Us, it reminded me of Hitchcock at his best. Tense, twisty, dark and so unpredictable I couldn't read it fast enough to see how it all played out. The ending gave me shivers. My favourite Olivia Kiernan book yet!
Fiona Cummins
The End Of Us is that rare book - beautifully written and impossible to put down. A dark, complex and nuanced thriller, its protagonist Myles Butler is a Ripley for the 21st century, rotten to the core of his luxury lifestyle, but impossible to resist
Karen Hamilton
The End of Us is exactly the type of book I love to read: witty, dark, unpredictable, well-written and with great insight into the darker side of human nature. A book to be devoured in one sitting
Cara Hunter
I loved it - easily Kiernan's best yet
Caz Frear
I loved everything about this stylish, addictive thriller from Olivia Kiernan. The End of Us entertains, it shocks, and it asks fascinating moral questions of its characters - and readers (my sympathies and allegiances were all over the place!) Beautifully written, masterfully executed. And THAT ending . . .
J P Delaney
A deliciously dark domestic noir - twisty, unpredictable and gripping
Erin Kelly
A golden couple whose reach exceeds their grasp, and their new neighbours who suggest a deal-with-the-devil solution. Beautiful prose and a plot that tightens like a vice
Dom Nolan
Sickeningly good cat-and-mouse game of fraud with a spot of murder for good measure, in a bougie enclave of Wimbledon. Delicious right down to the last killer line.
Catherine Ryan Howard
Tense and twisty, this novel sits at the intersection of Hitchcock and Ripley - really enjoyed it. And that ending. Deliciously dark
Charlotte Duckworth
Intoxicating, classy, twisty and just a total joy to read . . . I adored it
Nikki Smith
The characters jumped out of the pages and the chilling twists just kept coming.