We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

ebook / ISBN-13: 9781444189940

Price: £8.99

ON SALE: 18th June 2015

Genre: Literature & Literary Studies

Select a format:


Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

In Shakespeare’s Tragedies: All That Matters, Michael Scott explores and explains the secrets that have made Shakespeare’s tragedies so enduring that they continue to be performed, watched and studied by millions of people every year.

Professor Scott concentrates on the four great tragedies – Hamlet, King Lear, Othello and Macbeth – and builds an argument based around Shakespeare’s use of language to prompt the audience’s imagination and thought. This original little book, and its companion volume, Shakespeare’s Comedies, will help you understand each of the plays in the context of its oeuvre and the changing concept of Shakespearean tragedy across the centuries.

Appealing to both students and general readers, this book gives a fascinating introduction to Shakespeare’s tragedies – and what matters most about them.

What's Inside

Read More Read Less