Top

We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

From the author of The Secret Life of Albert Entwistle and Becoming Ted, a brand new enemies-to-lovers romcom for fans of Ted Lasso and Red, White and Royal Blue . . .

‘Heart-warming and joyful’ LORRAINE KELLY
‘A great big hug of a book’ MICHAEL BALL

Toddington FC defender Tom Horrocks is never happier than when he’s on the football pitch, but when it comes to love, he’s hiding a big secret. Worried about his young daughter and sick father – and with his team finally in the Premier League – he avoids all media.

Journalist Cosmo Roberts wants to change the world, so is angry when he’s sent to a quiet northern town to cover a sport he sees as anti-gay. Then something about Tom catches his eye.

Cosmo hates football. Tom hates journalists.
Perhaps this time they’ve both met their match.

‘Filled with joy and strength and optimism’ RUSSELL T. DAVIES
‘Romantic and heartbreaking and uplifting’ LAURA KAY

Reader love Matt Cain

‘Wonderfully uplifting’ ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
‘Absolutely brilliant’ ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
‘I loved every second of this book’ ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Reviews

Praise for Matt Cain
Glamour
A bucket of joy
Daily Mail
I ADORED this book, it's so uplifting, original and funny
Ruth Hogan
Rich, poignant, funny and unflinchingly honest
Ian McKellen
A rollicking love story
The Times
Positivity seeps from every page