We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

With no mother to guide them, can Livvie and Amy find happiness?

Two motherless girls, a young stepmother and a domineering father are woven into an unputdownable Merseyside saga set before the First World War. The perfect read for fans of Anne Baker, Catherine Cookson and Kitty Neale.

‘Gutsy… a vivid picture of a hard-up, hard-working community… will keep the pages turning’ – Daily Express

Liverpool, 1907. Thanks to their father’s success, sisters Livvie and Amy Goodwin are moving from their cramped home to a roomier house on the outskirts of Liverpool. But tragedy strikes when their adored mother dies in childbirth. The girls are still grieving when Thomas introduces their new stepmother – a woman just a few years older than Livvie.

Thomas has plans for his daughters. He wants Livvie to marry a wealthy neighbour’s son – not Frank Hadley, the kind and handsome factory manager she is attracted to. Their relationship is a dangerous enough secret, but Livvie’s interest in the Suffragettes could drive Thomas to the edge. For the Goodwin girls, the happy future they once took for granted is far from certain…

What readers are saying about Liverpool Sisters:

‘Another wonderful saga set in Liverpool’

‘You feel like you’re actually there in the era as she describes the places and characters so well’

I absolutely loved it

Reviews

Praise for Lyn Andrews: 'An outstanding storyteller'
Woman's Weekly
A vivid portrayal of life
Best
A compelling read
Woman's Own
The Catherine Cookson of Liverpool
Northern Echo
Gutsy...a vivid picture of a hard-up, hard-working community...will keep the pages turning
Daily Express