We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Stockport, 1944.

Alice seems to have it all, but the truth is her marriage isn’t as solid as it seems. Busy running her husband’s family shop while he’s at war, everything changes when she meets handsome Louis, fresh in from Guernsey with young evacuee twins Gabriela and Philip.

Factory heir Sophie is thrilled to be getting married – if only her mother her mother didn’t disapprove! She’s marrying for love, but her mother is convinced Tony is marrying for money. Is there more to her concern than Sophie realises?

Emily is tired of being pitied as the single friend. She’s not averse to marriage but she’s in no rush either! When she meets Italian prisoner-of-war Marco, she knows there can be no future. Her brother was killed in Dunkirk and her family would never accept an Italian.

A heartwarming and absorbing WW2 saga set in Stockport for fans of Rosie Archer, Maisie Thomas and Nancy Revell.