We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

The Split has everything I love in a novel. It’s hilariously funny, it’s so uplifting, and its characters are irresistibly loveable’ – BETH O’LEARY

‘Full of humour, kindness, cake and a cat, this is the novel to turn to in difficult times’ – KATIE FFORDE

‘A warm, funny, comforting read with such loveable characters!’ – RUTH JONES

Brutally dumped by her girlfriend, Ally is homeless, friendless and jobless… but at least she has Malcolm. Wounded and betrayed, Ally has made off with the one thing she thinks might soothe the pain: Emily’s cat.

After a long train journey she arrives home to her dad in Sheffield, ready to fold herself up in her duvet and remain on the sofa for the foreseeable. Her dad has other ideas. A phone call later, and Ally is reunited with her first ever beard and friend of old, Jeremy. He too is broken-hearted and living at home again.

In an inspired effort to hold each other up, the pair decide to sign up for the local half marathon in a bid to impress their exes with their commitment and athleticism.

Given neither of them can run, they enlist the support of athletic, not to mention beautiful, Jo. But will she have them running for the hills… or will their ridiculous plan pay off…?

A brilliant, heart-warming and intensely funny story of love, heartache, friendship and family. Perfect for fans of Marian Keyes and Dawn O’Porter.

Reviews

The Split has everything I love in a novel. It's hilariously funny, it's so uplifting, and its characters are irresistibly loveable
Beth O'Leary, author of SUNDAY TIMES bestsellers THE FLATSHARE and THE SWITCH
Wise, wonderful and so much fun. I loved it!
Heidi Swain, bestselling author of THE WINTER GARDEN
It was pure fun. Heart-warming and adorable
Julie Cohen, bestselling author of TOGETHER and LOUIS & LOUISE
The Split is an uplifting, warm and heartfelt story, with a cast of engaging characters who quickly became my friends. A feel-good depiction of love, friendship and family, which is very funny, but with moments of true poignancy too. An absolute must-read
Holly Miller, author of THE SIGHT OF YOU
It's rare that a book so important to the literary canon is, at the same time, entertaining, heart-warming, and funny
Anstey Harris, author of WHERE WE BELONG
I adored The Split - a hilarious but oh-so-relatable tale of how not to handle a break-up. It made me laugh and sigh and head out for a run
Holly Hepburn
Such a lovely and heart-warming book. And it's hilarious! ... You'd be hard pushed to find a better group of characters to spend time with
Suzanne Ewart, author of forthcoming ONE MONTH OF YOU
A warm, funny, comforting read with such loveable characters - and it actually made me want to start running again!
Ruth Jones
It's like meeting Marian Keyes and Dawn O'Porter in a cosy gay pub in Sheffield!
Matt Cain, author of THE MADONNA OF BOLTON
An absolute JOY from start to finish. If you're after a smart, funny romcom with characters to root for, this is one for you
Richard Roper
Fun, sassy and a joy to read. I loved it!
Emma Cooper, author of IF I COULD SAY GOODBYE
Guaranteed to have you chuckling, this is a book with heart
Prima
This ferociously funny book about family, friendship and finding yourself will give you a warm glow
Red
Perfectly capturing the agony of a break-up, you'll want to wrap them up in a hug, while eating a freshly baked cake
Heat
Warm, wise and very funny, The Split is a modern romcom with characters you'll fall in love with. I can't wait to read more by Laura Kay
Phoebe Lockhurst
A hilarious tale of friendship and community
The Sun
More than just a standard romcom but with gay characters, this nicely written, engaging debut squeezes in ambition, anxiety and cake galore
Daily Mail
It's fresh, funny, foodie, and feel-good
NB magazine
Brilliant, heart-warming and intensely funny rom com
My Weekly
A very funny read
Bella
A funny, uplifting and intensely human romantic comedy
Blackpool Gazette
A heartwarming and unique story of self discovery
Woman’s Own
Full of humour, kindness, cake and a cat, this is the novel to turn to in difficult times
Katie Fforde, bestselling author of A WEDDING IN THE COUNTRY

Events