Top

We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

A Boy Made of Blocks

On sale

29th December 2016

Price: £8.99

Waverton Good Read Award, 2018

Select a format

Selected: Paperback / ISBN-13: 9780751563290

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

THE RICHARD AND JUDY BOOK CLUB AND NUMBER ONE AMAZON BESTSELLER

‘The publishing sensation of the year: a compelling, uplifting and heart-rending debut novel’
Mail on Sunday

A Boy Made of Blocks is a funny, heartwarming story of family and love inspired by the author’s own experiences with his son, the perfect latest obsession for fans of The Rosie Project, David Nicholls and Jojo Moyes.

A father who rediscovers love

Alex loves his wife Jody, but has forgotten how to show it. He loves his son Sam, but doesn’t understand him. He needs a reason to grab his future with both hands.

A son who shows him how to live

Meet eight-year-old Sam: beautiful, surprising – and different. To him the world is a frightening mystery. But as his imagination comes to life, his family will be changed . . . for good.

‘One of those wonderful books that makes you laugh and cry at the same time’
Good Housekeeping

‘Funny, expertly plotted and written with enormous heart. Readers who enjoyed The Rosie Project will love A Boy Made of Blocks – I did’
Graeme Simsion

‘Very funny, incredibly poignant and full of insight. Awesome.’
Jenny Colgan

‘Heartwarming’
The Unmumsy Mum

‘A wonderful, warm, insightful novel about family, friendship and love’
Daily Mail

‘A great plot, with a rare sense of honesty’
Guardian

‘A truly beautiful story’
Heat

‘A heartwarming and wise story’
Cathy Rentzenbrink, author of The Last Act of Love

Reviews

Autism Eye
Touching and funny
Cath Weeks, The Big Issue
It was refreshing to read a story where the characters flail around, panic, cry, swear, yet ultimately are determined to build little blocks of happiness with those whom they love.
Heat
A Boy Made of Blocks is one of those unique and exquisite stories that grab you from the very first line. Searingly honest and poignant . . . tremendously moving. A truly beautiful story.
Daily Express
This debut is sad, funny and full of heart-melting moments that make tears inevitable.
Sun
Be prepared to shed tears (Book of the Week)
Sunday Express
A heartwarming read
Claire Allfree, Metro
Stuart scatters his rose petals with enough thorns to ensure his often very funny debut will get under the skin . . . a tear-jerker
Vanessa Greene
Warm and real, honest and heart-breaking, joyous and life-affirming. It has the lot.
Mail on Sunday
The publishing sensation of the year: a compelling, uplifting and heart-rending debut novel
Closer
Fans of Nick Hornby with love this funny and moving tale.
Jenny Colgan
Very funny, incredibly poignant and full of insight. Awesome.
Stuart Heritage
This book is incredible. Keith Stuart is a very clever man.
Graeme Simsion
Funny, expertly plotted and written with enormous heart. Readers who enjoyed The Rosie Project will love A Boy Made of Blocks - I did
Daily Mail
This is a wonderful, warm, insightful novel about family, friendship and love that tugs at your heart.
Virginia Macgregor
Keith Stuart is a master at balancing humour alongside the serious. He has a light touch but also moves us deeply, and his characters are wonderfully real. Clever and full of insight.
Kirkus
The characters are well-developed and vulnerable, learning to navigate and make sense of a world filled with obstacles. Stuart's debut novel is a charming and timely tale of learning to connect in the digital age.
Sunday Mirror
[A] warm, humorous and touching story about fatherhood and family
Forbes
An escape, majestic and beautiful, into a world where imagination is the only limit.
Huffington Post
A Boy Made of Blocks is a wonderful read and I imagine that this will be one of many outstanding novels by Keith Stuart.
Good Housekeeping
One of those wonderful books that makes you laugh and cry at the same time
Phoebe Morgan, author of The Doll House
Heartbreakingly realistic
The Unmumsy Mum
Heartwarming, funny and special. I devoured this cracking book.
Mail on Sunday
Even the hardest of hearts will be warmed by this poignant tale based on the author's life with his autistic son
Cathy Rentzenbrink, author of The Last Act of Love
A heart-warming and wise story . . . I shed a few tears but was left with a warm glow
Your Weekend (New Zealand)
An engaging and satisfying read on modern parenting
John Harris, Guardian
A Boy Made of Blocks is constructed around not just a great plot, but a rare sense of honesty and insight.