Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Legacy

The Legacy

A sweeping drama set between contemporary England and turn of the century America – perfect for fans of Kate Morton, Santa Montefiore and Victoria Hislop



Two sisters. One heartbreaking secret. And a past that cannot stay buried.



In the depths of a harsh winter, Erica and Beth Calcott return to the house where they spent idyllic summers as children.

Erica sorts through her late grandmother’s belongings, unearthing strange fragments of family history and vivid memories… Memories of their cousin, Henry, who disappeared one summer long ago, and of their grandmother, a bitter woman, full of a deep, dark hatred.

As Erica sifts through remnants of the past, a secret emerges, reaching all the way back to a beautiful heiress in turn-of-the-century Oklahoma. As past and present converge, Erica and Beth must come to terms with two terrible acts of betrayal and the heartbreaking legacy left behind.


Your favourite authors love Katherine Webb’s sweeping historical dramas:


‘An enormously talented writer’ Santa Montefiore

‘Webb have a true gift for uncovering the mysteries of the human heart and exploring the truth of love’ Kate Williams

‘Katherine Webb’s writing is beautiful’ Elizabeth Fremantle

‘A truly gifted writer of historical fiction’ Lucinda Riley

‘Katherine’s writing is rich, vivid and evocative’ Iona Grey
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

On Sale: 24th June 2010

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9781409112594

Reviews

Praise for Sunday Times bestselling author Katherine Webb: This is a great yarn, spanning several generations, with neat twists and a surprising ending
PRIMA
Brilliant and absorbing drama
GOOD HOUSEKEEPING
A haunting novel of betrayal
WOMAN & HOME
A dreamy summer epic
ESSENTIALS
An engrossing and totally convincing piece of storytelling
YOU MAGAZINE
An enormously talented writer
SANTA MONTEFIORE
Webb has a true gift for uncovering the mysteries of the human heart and exploring the truth of love
KATE WILLIAMS
A truly gifted writer of historical fiction
LUCINDA RILEY
Katherine Webb's writing is beautiful
ELIZABETH FREMANTLE
Katherine's writing is rich, vivid and evocative and her characters breathtakingly real
IONA GREY