Top

We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

The Teller of Small Fortunes

On sale

5th November 2024

Price: £20

Select a format

Selected: Hardcover / ISBN-13: 9781399729048

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

*** HIDDEN FOIL ON THE CASE AND BEAUTIFUL ENDPAPERS AVAILABLE FOR A LIMITED TIME LINE. PRE-ORDER YOURS NOW! ***

SMALL FORTUNES. BIG FEELINGS.



‘Joyful, heartwarming and utterly charming’ AMÉLIE WEN ZHAO
‘The warmest, loveliest book’ SANGU MANDANNA
‘Will soothe your heart’ SARAH BETH DURST

A cozy fantasy about trying to find yourself – and finding a family instead. Perfect for fans of Legends and Lattes, A Psalm for the Wild-Built and The House in the Cerulean Sea.

Fleeing a troubled past, immigrant fortune teller Tao roams the dusty countryside with only her mule for company, telling small fortunes, for small prices. Big fortunes come with big consequences . . . which she knows from bitter experience.

It’s a lonely life, until she encounters an ex-mercenary and a (semi) reformed thief, who recruit her into their desperate search for a lost child. Soon, they’re joined by a baker with a knead for adventure, and – of course – a slightly magical cat.

Tao sets down a new path with companions as big-hearted as her fortunes are small. But as her friends break down her walls, the shadows of her past close in. Now, Tao must decide whether to risk everything to save the family she never thought she could have . . .

Reviews

Jules Arbeaux, author of Lord of the Empty Isles
Filled with philosophizing trolls, little magics, and delicious (if lumpy) baked goods, TELLER OF SMALL FORTUNES is like one of those lift-you-off-the-ground, ribcage-cracking hugs-dizzyingly delightful, a little painful, and so incredibly therapeutic. Do yourself the great kindness of reading this wrenching, warming, funny, thoughtful, cozy, life-affirming book. I finished it and felt more whole, and I hope you do, too
Genoveva Dimova, author of Foul Days
A charming tale with a big heart, The Teller of Small Fortunes is sweet without ever turning saccharine, and it tackles serious topics without ever losing its sense of humour. An utterly delightful debut
Nadia El-Fassi, author of Best Hex Ever
As comforting as the scent of freshly baked bread, this is a hug in book form and the perfect comfort read. Set in an endlessly charming world with characters you can't help but love, this is novel is whimsical, cosy perfection and I loved every second of it
A.Y. Chao, Sunday Times bestselling author of Shanghai Immortal
Julie Leong's The Teller of Small Fortunes is such a palate cleanser for crappy days - Leong creates a world resplendent with charm, gentleness, reconciliation and love. So much love! There were many joyous cathartic tears shed. I adored every minute of it and now must read everything Leong writes! Fan for life!
Maiga Doocy, author of Sorcery and Small Magics
Tao and her band of charismatic companions (four-legged friends included!) won my heart completely on this deeply endearing and entertaining fantasy road trip. Charming, relatable, and tender, The Teller of Small Fortunes will delight readers looking for their next cozy adventure
Stephanie Burgis, author of Wooing the Witch Queen
A wonderfully warm, cozy, and immersive fantasy adventure that left me brimming with happiness
Olivia Atwater, author of Half a Soul
A lovely cosy fantasy about tiny fortunes, baked goods, ugly cats, and all of the small things that matter
Grace D. Li, New York Times bestselling author of Portrait of a Thief
Warm, welcoming, and endlessly inventive, THE TELLER OF SMALL FORTUNES feels like being invited in for tea with a dear friend (and expert storyteller!). An utter and complete delight to read
Quenby Olson, author of the Miss Percy Guide series
The Teller of Small Fortunes was lovely and sweet and comforting. But the most beautiful part was how it was not only about found family, but about finding your way back to your family . . . an adventure, yet cozy and funny and sweet and poignant. A beautiful book!
Sarah Beth Durst, award-winning author of THE SPELLSHOP
It's such a delight when a book is every bit as wonderful as you hope it will be. THE TELLER OF SMALL FORTUNES is perfection! A lovely and comforting cozy fantasy about finding your own family and choosing your own path, this is a beautiful treasure of a book that will warm your heart and heal your soul. I absolutely loved every second of it!
Amélie Wen Zhao, New York Times and international bestselling author of Song of Silver, Flame Like Night
Joyful, heartwarming, and utterly charming, Leong's cozy fantasy debut is a cup of hot (fortune-telling) tea straight to the soul. Readers will delight in road-tripping with Tao, her found family, and their adorable animal companions in this whimsical, healing tale
Frances White, Sunday Times bestselling author of The Voyage of the Damned
This is a hug in a book . . . a warm, yummy, satisfying baked treat of a book. If you're looking for D&D vibes (except it's the part where the party explores curious little towns) this book is perfect for you
India Holton, international bestselling author of The Wisteria Society of Lady Scoundrels
The Teller of Small Fortunes is a warm and lovely book that will soothe your heart. Its gentleness and coziness are such a delightful gift
Eliza Chan, #1 Sunday Times bestselling author of Fathomfolk
A warm hug of a book. The Teller of Small Fortunes is a curative journey of found friendship and diaspora feels, steeped in so much kindness that even the most cynical of readers will not be able to resist its charms
John Wiswell, Nebula-winning author of Someone You Can Build A Nest In
A warmhearted, often cozy story about telling fortunes - and sometimes, stealing them. A delight
Sangu Mandanna, author of The Very Secret Society of Irregular Witches
If you're running a little low on serotonin, trust me: brew yourself a hot drink, curl up with this treasure of a tale, and thank me later! It's the warmest, loveliest book I've read in ages
S.A. MacLean, author of The Phoenix Keeper
A heartwarming adventure, The Teller of Small Fortunes feels like a breath of fresh air on the open road and a warm campfire surrounded by friends. Filled with found family, fateful magic, and unexpected quests waiting just over the horizon, this is the epitome of what I think of when I hear 'cosy fantasy