We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

ebook / ISBN-13: 9781472224040

Price: £3.49

ON SALE: 9th April 2015

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

Striking out on her own path of independence, what will she leave in her wake?

Set amid the wealth and beauty of sixteenth-century Europe, Judith Lennox’s novel, The Italian Garden, transports her readers to a tempestuous world of love and betrayal.
Perfect for fans of Rachel Hore and Dinah Jefferies.

The du Chantonnay estate of Marigny on the Loire consumes the desires of two powerful men – bitter, worldly-wise Guillaume du Chantonnay, and ruthless Hamon de Bohun – who will stop at nothing to possess it. Toby Crow, a young soldier of fortune, is also drawn to Marigny, for his mysterious origins are somehow bound up with the chateau.

Italy’s most priceless beauty, exotic Joanna Zulian, would crown Marigny’s perfection. But Joanna, bred a vagabond and newly escaped from a stifling marriage to the artist Gaetano, vows never again to be possessed by any man, nor obey any laws but her own. With the help of the adoring English doctor Martin and a reluctant Toby, Joanna forges her own path through war-ravaged Europe.

And when Joanna comes at last to Marigny, it is to weave the whole intricate tale of the de Bohuns, the du Chantonnays, and her own colourful life into the Italian garden she designs. It will be her own legacy, a legacy fraught with danger…

What readers are saying about The Italian Garden:

‘I loved the time period, the colourful background of Venice… the development of the characters and the twists in the plot. Great writing

‘Another wonderful story of power and greed, but always with the thread of passion

Thoroughly absorbing read, was gripped throughout’

What's Inside

Read More Read Less