We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

ebook / ISBN-13: 9781472224125

Price: £3.49

ON SALE: 7th May 2015

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

When a family is forced to leave its beloved home, the sense of injustice never dies…

Middlemere is a compelling tale of one family and their quest for independence from acclaimed author Judith Lennox. Perfect for fans of Dinah Jefferies and Kate Morton.


The Coles have lived in Middlemere for half a century. When, in 1942, they are threatened with eviction, they flee the house. But not before eight-year-old Romy, hiding in a cupboard, sees her father shot dead.

Years later Romy, now almost nineteen, is quick, clever and single-minded. She schemes to restore the family fortunes, to rescue her mother from drudgery and to protect her brother, Jem, a charming scoundrel who is always in trouble. Most of all, she longs to escape the poverty and narrowness of her surroundings. A chance meeting with Mirabel Plummer, owner of the exclusive London hotel, The Trelawney, is about to change Romy’s life for ever…

What readers are saying about Judith Lennox:

Ideal escapism

‘[Judith Lennox] is the ultimate storyteller… her stories are compelling and beautifully descriptive of both characters and feelings’

‘Ms Lennox’s writing is truly amazing, and creates characters that remain with me after the last page is turned’

What's Inside

Read More Read Less