We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Once you cross the line there’s no going back…

From the author of Break Neck and Outsider, comes False Start, a thriller set in the world of horseracing, in which a young trainer is accused of murder, leaving his friend to discover the truth. The perfect read for fans of Felix Francis’ Pulse and Triple Crown.

‘[Francome is] the natural successor to Dick Francis’ – Irish Times

When Charlie Patterson and Nick Ryder begin training together they strike gold in their first season. The two lifelong friends have been sent a yearling by Kate Scanlan, the attractive boss of a local animal rescue centre. Willow Star, as the scrawny filly is named, is sold to Major Patterson, Charlie’s step-father, and the youngster quickly defies her looks by establishing herself as one of the fastest of her age. A stab at the following year’s classic races is about to begin when, without warning, Major Patterson informs Charlie and Nick that he is selling Willow Star to another yard. The ambitious trainers see their chance of hitting the big time disappear when their attempts to deter the sale fail. What ensues is a thrilling tale of mystery that finds Charlie cornered, facing the impossible dilemma of having to choose precisely where his loyalties lie; with his best friend or with his family; and needing to solve a murder to stay alive…

What readers are saying about False Start:

‘Thoroughly enthralling

‘Brilliantly explores the deeds and misdeeds in horseracing’

‘Filled with twists and turns