We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Some people will do anything to win…

Break Neck is an electrifying racing thriller filled with shocking revelations. John Francome’s thrillers are perfect for fans of Felix Francis’ Pulse and Triple Crown.


‘Like Dick Francis… A winner’ – Mail on Sunday

When apprentice jockey Rory Gillespie abandons his fiancée Laura Brickhill, in favour of trainer’s daughter Pam Fanshaw, it’s a decision made from ambition not love. And Rory has to wait ten years before Laura will forgive him. Now one of England’s leading trainers, and married to property tycoon Luke Mundy, Laura asks Rory to ride her best horse, Midnight Express, in Cheltenham’s Two Mile Champion Chase. Shortly afterwards, Luke is killed on one of Laura’s horses and she is arrested for manslaughter. Rory won’t desert her this time and, setting out to prove Laura’s innocence, he discovers that there is more than one person who will benefit from Luke’s death.

What readers are saying about Break Neck:

‘Great story with lots of twists and turns

‘John Francome is up there with the best Racing thriller authors

Star quality writing, totally gripping and unputdownable