We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

DI Carl McCadden returns in the gripping second book in Jim Lusby’s compulsive crime series – perfect for fans of LJ Ross and Val McDermid

Waiting in a hospital Casualty department, DI McCadden’s attention is caught a man clutching fruit and roses. Not so unusual in a hospital – except that the man doesn’t seem to be visiting or waiting for treatment. What’s he up to?

Whatever it is gets him beaten up in the hospital car park, and involves McCadden in a labyrinthine case of deceit and more danger than he could imagine . . .

‘More feeling for atmosphere and more sense of character than most crime stories’ EVENING STANDARD

‘Excellent…an exciting read’ IRISH TIMES


‘This is the real Ireland, where pleasure and pain are inextricably linked’ MANCHESTER EVENING NEWS