We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

A daughter searches for the truth behind her mother’s disappearance in this riveting novel, perfect for fans of Rosamund Lupton’s SISTER and SJ Watson’s BEFORE I GO TO SLEEP

‘I do not know what you have been told about your mother. But I know it cannot be the truth…’ Klara Mortimer never really knew her mother, Sadie, a former model, who left when she was just six years old. All she has is a handful of stories, passed down from the father who raised her. Klara tells herself she has long ago come to terms with her mother’s disappearance from her life, but then she receives a note and key from someone who calls themselves ‘N.R.’. These lead her to a garage, full of the remnants of her mother’s past, and to the diary she kept all those years ago. Within its pages, Klara discovers a woman who doesn’t quite match the portrait her father has painstakingly painted for her, and a story that leads her to question everything she thought she knew…

Reviews

'A tight, compelling study of love, obsession and breakdown. I couldn't stop reading'
Jojo Moyes
A gripping, moving, beautifully unwound story about family secrets and dark deeds done in the name of love. I couldn't put it down
Erin Kelly
Addictive reading
Women & Home
Insightful about middle-class angst at its most creepy... Unnerving
Independent on Sunday
A really gripping read
Chloe's Chick Lit Reviews
Brilliant!
Image magazine