Top

We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

The Last Days of Jack Sparks

On sale

28th July 2016

Price: £9.99

Select a format

Selected: Paperback / ISBN-13: 9780356506852

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

‘MAGNIFICENT’ Alan Moore
‘I COULDN’T PUT THE BOOK DOWN’ Ron Howard
‘CHILLING AND UTTERLY IMMERSIVE’ M. R. Carey

It was no secret that journalist Jack Sparks had been researching the occult for his new book. No stranger to controversy, he’d already triggered a furious Twitter storm by mocking an exorcism he witnessed.

Then there was that video: forty seconds of chilling footage that Jack repeatedly claimed was not of his making, yet was posted from his own YouTube account.

Nobody knew what happened to Jack in the days that followed – until now.


Fascinating, hilarious, disturbing, exciting and surprising as hellRon Howard, director of Apollo 13, A Beautiful Mind and The Da Vinci Code

‘Brilliantly paced, utterly compelling, I didn’t have *a clue* what would happen’ Toby Whithouse

Super spooky and addictively written’ Heat

We fell hard for Jason Arnopp’s whip-smart and impulsive thriller . . . meet your new favourite book’ iBooks Store

‘Wittier than the lovechild of Stephen Fry and Charlie Brooker, scarier than watching The Exorcist in an abandoned asylumSarah Lotz, author of The Three

‘This is The Omen for the social media age’ Chris Brookmyre

‘Ingenious and funny . . . A magnificent millennial nightmare’ Alan Moore


DISCOVER THIS YEAR’S MOST TALKED-ABOUT THRILLER – perfect for fans of Stephen King, Irvine Welsh and Chuck Palahniuk.

Look out for GHOSTER, the new razor-sharp supernatural thriller from Jason Arnopp

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Reviews

David Schneider, comedian, director and actor in I'M ALAN PARTRIDGE and THE DAY TODAY
An absolutely great read. It scared the bejeezus out of me!
HEAT
Super spooky and addictively written
Paul Finch, SHORTLIST
As funny as it is frightening
Lisa Jewell, International bestselling author
I always suspected Jason Arnopp was a genius, and now, having read his first novel, I know I was right. Jack Sparks is an extraordinary literary creation, clever and awful, loveable and cruel and his story is so terrifying and believable that I could barely bring myself to turn off my lights at bedtime
Rick O'Shea, radio presenter
Cracking fun and genuinely creepy
Daniel P. Carter, Radio 1 DJ
If you enjoy smart supernatural thrillers then read this book . . . I smashed through it in a couple of days
Rebecca Levene, author of The Hollow Gods series
Original, clever, scary and funny...It kept me gripped and guessing from page one
THE SPECULATIVE HERALD
It grabbed me relentlessly and made me reprioritize sleep . . . The conclusion is shocking, heartbreaking and absolutely fabulous. I really just loved this one.
Andrew O'Neill, comedian, presenter and musician
Quite brilliant. An assured, ultra-modern occult story with real depth of character, a compelling and satisfyingly twisted narrative and a streak of genuine malevolence
iBooks Store
We fell hard for Jason Arnopp's whip-smart and impulsive thriller . . . meet your new favourite book
John Higgs, author of STRANGER THAN WE CAN IMAGINE
A breath of fresh air, vivid and essential
SUN
[A] shriekingly good paranormal thriller . . . Superb pacing, tightrope-taut suspense building and tight plotting
Sarah Lotz, author of THE THREE
Wittier than the lovechild of Stephen Fry and Charlie Brooker; scarier than watching The Exorcist in an abandoned asylum. Fast, furious, original and most importantly, terrifying
Andy Nyman, co-creator of GHOST STORIES and Derren Brown's award-winning shows
Tremendous . . . a cracking read
THE AUSTRALIAN WAY
Arnopp's snappy prose and bizarre plot carry the day. An uneasy suspense shrouds the pages like a murky London fog. Devour it in one sitting
Paul Tremblay, author of HEAD FULL OF GHOSTS
Funny, creepy, and totally nuts. I had a blast reading it
M. R. Carey, author of THE GIRL WITH ALL THE GIFTS
Wow. Seriously hard to put down . . . Chilling and utterly immersive
Chris Brookmyre, author of the Jack Parlabane thrillers
This is The Omen for the social media age
Alan Moore
Ingenious and funny . . . A magnificent millennial nightmare
Ken Bruen, author of the Jack Taylor crime series
The Last Days of Jack Sparks is whip-smart and perhaps, the greatest indictment of social media or endorsement of it . . . It is that kind of wonderful book that plays with your perception and is the very last word in gonzo journalism. If Hunter S. Thompson decided to write a novel channelling Aleister Crowley and with the wit of Augustus Burroughs, you would have the essence of this terrific novel
Tiernan Douieb, comedian
Brilliantly unnerving. I couldn't put it down
Ron Howard, director of APOLLO 13, A BEAUTIFUL MIND and THE DA VINCI CODE
Fascinating, hilarious, disturbing, exciting and surprising as hell. I couldn't put the book down
Chuck Wendig, NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author
This is one of those books where I'm sad when I'm not reading it. It manages the rare feat of being both horrific and hilarious, which makes me insanely jealous of Arnopp and has me considering how to kill him and consume his mighty power