We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Buy Now:

Audiobook Downloadable / ISBN-13: 9781473233010

Price: £21.99

ON SALE: 5th August 2021

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Fantasy

‘Sublime prose and pin-sharp characterisation combined to produce a captivating epic of conflicted loyalties and dangerous ambition’

Anthony Ryan, New York Times bestselling author

‘Hands down the best debut of the year. Scratch that; this is one of the best debuts I’ve ever read’ Novel Notions

A great coming of age story about a foolish boy who seeks to unravel the secrets of magic and maybe do something good in the process. I absolutely loved it’ Nick Martell

My name is Wen Alder. My name is Foolish Cur.



All my life, I have been torn between two legacies: that of my father, whose roots trace back to the right hand of the Emperor. That of my mother’s family, who reject the oppressive Empire and embrace the resistance.

I can choose between them – between protecting my family, or protecting my people – or I can search out a better path . . . a magical path, filled with secrets, unbound by empire or resistance, which could shake my world to its very foundation.

But my search for freedom will entangle me in a war between the gods themselves . . .

The first book in the Pact and Pattern series. Fans of Robin Hobb, Brandon Sanderson’s Mistborn and R.F. Kuang’s The Poppy War will love the magic running through every page.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

An original fantasy filled with magic and culture, the story of a character torn between two names, two loyalties, and two definitions of good and evil’ Kevin J. Anderson, New York Times bestselling author

Reviews

An original fantasy filled with magic and culture, the story of a character torn between two names, two loyalties, and two definitions of good and evil
Kevin J. Anderson, New York Times bestselling author of Spine of the Dragon
A great coming of age story about a foolish boy who seeks to unravel the secrets of magic and maybe do something good in the process. I absolutely loved it
Nick Martell, author of Kingdom of Liars
Set in a fantastical world of magic with a rich history, this novel fits beautifully into its genre while also addressing some failings of the genre by turning them on their head
Dawn Vogel, History That Never Was
J.T. Greathouse's debut is going to make waves . . . without a doubt one of the best books I've read in a long time
Jon Ficke
Wen Alder's pursuit for forbidden knowledge, while having to choose a future that will either make his parents proud or honor his legacy makes for an addicting journey full of magic
Clay Harmon
A spellbinding debut with terrific characterisations, immersive world-building, and prose that swept me away . . . hands down the best debut of the year. Scratch that; this is one of the best debuts I've ever read
Novel Notions
An excellent debut
Aspects of Me
An excellent mix of classic and modern fantasy with a grimdark undertone of despair
Grimdark Magazine
Sublime prose and pin-sharp characterisation combine to produce a captivating epic of conflicted loyalties and dangerous ambition
Anthony Ryan, New York Times bestselling author
Well written, thought provoking and enjoyable, The Hand of the Sun King is an impressive debut novel that left me eager for more
Lisbeth Campbell, author of The Vanished Queen
A sublime debut fantasy novel set in a unique world that, through the eyes of Wen Alder, shares the delightful intricacies of world-building
Eternal Bookcase