Top

We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

The Mechanical

On sale

10th March 2015

Price: £9.99

Select a format

Selected: ebook / ISBN-13: 9781405524940

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

My name is Jax.

That is the name granted to me by my human masters.

I am a slave.

But I shall be free.

Set in a world that might have been, of mechanical men and alchemical dreams, the new novel from Ian Tregillis confirms his place as one of the most original new voices in speculative fiction.

PRAISE FOR IAN TREGILLIS

‘A major new talent’ GEORGE R. R. MARTIN

‘Tremendous’ Cory Doctorow

‘Addictively brilliant’ i09

‘Exciting and intense’ Publishers Weekly

‘Eloquent and utterly compelling’ Kirkus


What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Reviews

KIRKUS
His characters are as convincing as ever, the plotting is beautifully articulated . . . readers with an interest in dark, intelligent fantasy will find much to admire here
RT Book Reviews
In the tradition of Isaac Asimov, Tregillis's latest novel combines classic robotics with historical fiction to riveting ends . . . The story manages to posit broad questions, such as how one defines humanity and free will, without coming across as sanctimonious or treacly. It's also just plain exciting, with intense fight scenes and exhilarating narrow escapes. Readers will no doubt be rooting for the 'rogue' robots.
Forbidden Planet International
One of the sharpest, most intelligent, hugely compelling works I've read this year, and I cannot wake to see where Tregillis takes this series next
BOOKLIST
The first thing readers will say after finishing this splendid book is: "Wow." The second thing will probably be: "When can I read the next one? . . . This is a rousing SF/fantasy adventure, with a brilliantly imagined and beautifully rendered alternate world
BIBLIOSANCTUM
Tregillis never fails to impress, and his writing and stories seem to be getting better with each novel. This book is truly unlike anything I've ever read before, and it's my favorite work of his to date. I can't wait to see what the next installment in The Alchemy Wars will bring.
SFFworld
With The Mechanical Tregillis displays the craftsmanship and precision of a master clockmaker . . . [He] skilfully portrays characters that are as compelling and sympathetic as they are flawed and conflicted . . . I would recommend The Mechanical to any reader with an interest in well-written and engaging fantasy story set in an elegantly constructed alternate history
Publishers Weekly
Tregillis launches a series with this superb alternate history filled with clockwork men and ethical questions on the nature of free will . . . Tregillis's complex setting is elegantly delivered, and the rich characters and gripping story really make this tale soar
Library Journal
Tregillis presents a fascinating look at the nature of free will and the existence of the soul, wrapped up in an absolutely thrilling adventure story. Jax is an amazing, sympathetic character, and the world of the clockmakers and their slaves is so absorbing that readers will be dying for the next entry in this new series
SFX
A hugely entertaining novel
Sci-Fi and Fantasy Reviews
A multi-layered literary confection . . . tight and well constructed, and an absolute pleasure to read . . . absolutely fascinating, and unapologetically clever