Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

London Calling

London Calling

LONDON CALLING is a poignant, warm-hearted and engaging saga of Clapham, south London’s women during the Second World War, for readers of Kate Thompson, Annie Murray and Katie Flynn.

It will take more than Hitler’s Luftwaffe to break the spirit of the residents of Lavender Road. If courage and resilience could win wars, the conflict would already be over.

It’s not all harmony, though. Nurse Molly Coogan and would-be actress Jen Carter certainly don’t see eye to eye. Molly, despite hating the discipline of wartime hospital life, is unimpressed by Jen’s prima donna ways. Jen, unaware of Molly’s secret heartache, can’t resist taking her own frustrations out on Molly. It’s just as well that no one knows what challenges lie ahead…

From stolen glasses in the Flag and Garter to fancy dinners in the heart of the West End, from a desperate battle for survival on a hospital ward to a torpedo hitting its target in the Mediterranean Sea, LONDON CALLING takes readers into a world of ordinary people living extraordinary lives.
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Sagas

On Sale: 25th February 2016

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9781472231413

Reviews

Praise for Helen Carey's Lavender Road novels 'Written with a lightness of touch, an emotional integrity and an historical accuracy which has brought her respect from critics and readers alike
Louis de Bernières
Sparkling storytelling
Evening Standard