We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Paperback / ISBN-13: 9781472233103

Price: £9.99

ON SALE: 10th August 2017

Genre: Fiction & Related Items

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

The world is ending. But the voice in your head might just save you. Listen to it very carefully…

‘Of a piece with Stephen King’s The Stand INDEPENDENT

‘Lee Child channelling Stephen King – but the vision is unique’ DAILY MAIL

Defender is a ‘heart-in-mouth’, wildly original post-apocalyptic thriller for fans of Stephen King, Clive Barker and The Walking Dead.



ON THE CUSP OF SLEEP, HAVE WE NOT ALL HEARD A VOICE CALL OUT OUR NAME?

In a world where long drinks are in short supply, it’s dangerous to listen to your inner voice.

Those who do, keep it quiet.

But one man listens to the voice in his head telling him to buy a lemonade from the girl sitting on a dusty road.

There is a reason why Pilgrim and Lacey must cross paths.

They just don’t know it yet . . .

‘Compelling, suspenseful and altogether extraordinary’ LEE CHILD

‘So accomplished that it’s difficult to believe it’s a first novel’ JOHN CONNOLLY

Readers DEVOURED Defender

This has to be my favourite book so far this year… G X Todd has delivered a genius debut that grips you from start to finish’

This was great! Well written, gripping, emotion, great characters’

‘A stunning debut… I can’t wait to find out where book two will take us’

‘Kept me guessing and surprised me at every turn’

‘Pilgrim and Lacey’s friendship and care is lightness and hope in a dark world’

What's Inside

Read More Read Less