Top

We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

An Invitation to the Kennedys

On sale

14th September 2023

Price: £9.99

Select a format

Selected: ebook / ISBN-13: 9781399708036

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

‘Perfect for fans of The Crown and Downton Abbey ‘ Hazel Gaynor, bestselling author of The Last Lifeboat

‘A breathtaking, glamorous and escapist read’ Irish Times

London 1938: Daughter of the US ambassador, Kathleen ‘Kick’ Kennedy is a huge hit in society’s most elite circles, though she isn’t always sure she fits in. While Kick is falling for duke-in-waiting Billy Cavendish, a man her parents will never let her marry, across the city Lady Brigid Guinness has no interest in love or society connections. But her ambitious brother-in-law has other ideas and seems determined to engineer a match with a German prince.

When they are invited to an exclusive gathering at a country estate, the young women soon form an unlikely friendship: the stuck-up aristocrat and the brash American. Then Billy and Prince Fritzi join the party, and tensions rise as Kick and Brigid discover that beneath the group’s façade of politeness, nothing is as it seems.

As the days at Kelvedon Hall pass in a haze of sunshine, secrecy and surprising revelations, Kick and Brigid begin
to rethink their hopes and plans for the future. Do they still want what they once did? And with the world around
them constantly shifting, as war in Europe looms, will they ever be able to have it?

Reviews

Irish Country Magazine
This is a captivating story of high society, forbidden love and a world on the cusp of change from the bestselling author of the Guinness Girls series