We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

ebook / ISBN-13: 9781784291860

Price: £9.99

ON SALE: 16th June 2016

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

A beautiful historical mystery for fans of Sarah Waters, Amitav Ghosh’s The Sea of Poppies, and Jamaica Inn.

London in the 1770s is bursting with opportunity. It’s a city fuelled by new ideas and new money, where everything is for sale – including entrée into the ruling class.

Making their way in this buccaneering society are Carey Ravine, a spirited young woman of enigmatic background, and her husband, the charming, endlessly enterprising Oliver Nash. Carey and Nash share a historic connection to India and a desperate ambition to better themselves. But as Nash’s plans draw them into a restless association of gamblers and secret societies, Carey begins to question what’s really hidden behind the seedy glamour of their lives. Her unease grows with the appearance of a mysterious man whose appearance unearths a troubling secret from the past. Carey finds herself forced to investigate the truth behind the stranger’s claims­­ – and to confront her own illusions about herself.

What's Inside

Read More Read Less