We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

ebook / ISBN-13: 9781472202789

Price: £9.99

ON SALE: 22nd November 2012

Genre: Fiction & Related Items

Select a format:

Paperback

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

All he wanted was to make his mother proud…

Dean Koontz’s From the Corner of His Eye is an unforgettable thriller of suspense, danger and the supernatural. Perfect for fans of Stephen King and Richard Laymon.


‘A wonderful read. The pacing is perfect, keeping the reader in exquisite tension. This is a deeply satisfying, rich novel. You may have nightmares about [the villain] but you’ll love the other characters. Singularly and collectively, they are unforgettable. From the Corner of His Eye is magic’ – New Orleans Times-Picayune

Bartholomew Lampion was blinded at the age of three, when surgeons reluctantly removed his eyes to save him from a fast-spreading cancer. But although eyeless, Barty regained his sight when he was thirteen.

This sudden ascent from a decade of darkness into the glory of light was not brought about by a holy healer. No celestial trumpets announced the restoration of his vision, just as none had announced his birth.

A rollercoaster had something to do with his recovery, as did a seagull. And you can’t discount Barty’s profound desire to make his mother proud of him before she died.

The first time she died was the day Barty was born. January 6, 1965.

What readers are saying about From the Corner of His Eye:

‘At one stage I was so shocked by what happened I had to reread a few pages to make sure I hadn’t misread… the twist was so surprising and so unexpected

‘This book had twists and turns to the last word

One of the best books I’ve ever read

Reviews

A wonderful read. The pacing is perfect, keeping the reader in exquisite tension. This is a deeply satisfying, rich novel. You may have nightmares about [the villain] but you'll love the other characters. Singularly and collectively, they are unforgettable. From the Corner of His Eye is magic
New Orleans Times-Picayune
Powerful emotion tinged with spiritual wonder. That emotion, which rocks the characters and will shake readers, marks this as one of Koontz's most effective novels - and he's written a lot of them
Publishers Weekly
This is not merely a novel of suspense; it is also a story of belief and reflection, of choices and the beauty that can blossom from doing what is right, rather than what is easy. While dazzling the reader with magnificent turns of phrase that will evoke simultaneous admiration and envy, [Koontz] alternates the mood between tenderness and suspense. A novel that is absolutely perfect from opening word to closing sentence
Bookreporter.com
Uplifting and optimistic. There's nothing sentimental... in this book, though a complex philosophical thesis is at its heart. A knuckle-biter from start to finish
Toronto Star
From the Corner of His Eye may be Koontz's crowning achievement in a lengthy career already filled with triumphs. In this first-rate thriller, non-stop action keeps one turning the pages in spite of the book's length
Minneapolis Star Tribune
Readers in search of a pull-out-the-stops, multigenre thriller need look no further than From the Corner of His Eye
Denver Post
Full of more surprises than the average Koontz offering - and that is saying much. His opening is like a man announcing he will juggle bowling balls while frying eggs and piloting an air balloon. Preposterous - but Koontz proceeds to do it, and much more. Koontz does not bore
San Diego Union Tribune
Koontz is famous for the way he falls in love with his characters. They're so richly and compellingly drawn, you can practically hear them breathing from the page. From the Corner of His Eye is chuckfull of hope an wonderment, good and evil, familial adoration, and characters you'll wish lived next door. You'll never want to leave the worlds Koontz draws you into. Settle in for one remarkable read of awesome possibilities
Lexington Herald-Ledger
Dean Koontz has always boldly gone where no other fiction writer has even considered going before. As ever, the writing is fluid, the dynamic taut and the relationships between characters compulsive
The Times
Koontz's art is making the reader believe the impossible... sit back and enjoy it
Sunday Telegraph