We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

In the snow, death is not the coldest thing waiting for you…

From out of the whiteness, a dark figure comes…

December, 1930, Ukraine. After the horrors of war, Luka wants a quiet life with his family. His village has, so far, remained hidden from the advancing Soviet brutality – but everything changes the day a stranger arrives, pulling a sled bearing a terrible cargo: the bodies of two children. When the villagers’ fear turns deadly, they think they have saved themselves. And then a little girl vanishes.

Luka is the only man with the skills to find the stolen child in these frozen lands. And though his toughest enemy is the man he tracks through the harsh winter landscape, his strongest bond is a promise to his family back home…

Reviews

The tone is dark and disturbing in this tightly written story, tension mounting until the unexpected ending. Sure to appeal to fans of David Benioff and Tom Rob Smith
THE BOOKBITCH
... a straightforward, beautifully written thriller about surviving hardships against all odds with honor and humanity.
NEW YORK JOURNAL OF BOOKS
Smith succeeds in creating a narrative that is both an engrossing thriller and the story of a man struggling in the grip of historical events that he only partially understands.
SUNDAY TIMES
This is a pursuit thriller of the highest quality, reminiscent of the classic of the genre, Geoffrey Household's Rogue Male.
IRISH INDEPENDENT
A terrific book with an original setting ... [it] works both as a compelling thriller, in which readers are drawn into Luka's confrontation with the mysterious child thief, and as the story of one man entangled in historical events larger than his personal battle against a psychopathic murderer
BBC HISTORY MAGAZINE
Smith is a talented writer who incorporates the forbidding landscape of Ukraine as a central character in the cat-and-mouse chase ... the well-constructed plot is nicely complemented by Smith's adept turn of phrase
SUNDAY BUSINESS POST
Atmospheric pursuit thriller set in 1930s Ukraine in which war veteran Luka stalks his niece's psychopathic kidnapper across frozen terrain.
BIG ISSUE IN THE NORTH