We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

The Ladies of the Secret Circus

ebook / ISBN-13: 9780349425955

Price: £8.99

ON SALE: 2nd March 2021

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

Romance, mystery, and a family curse – The Ladies of the Secret Circus has it allPopsugar

From the author of A Witch in Time comes a magical story spanning from Jazz Age Paris to modern-day America of family secrets, sacrifice, and lost love set against the backdrop of a mysterious circus. Perfect for fans of The Night Circus and The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue.

The surest way to get a ticket to Le Cirque Secret is to wish for it . . .

Paris, 1925: To enter the Secret Circus is to enter a world of wonder – a world where women weave illusions, carousels take you back in time, and trapeze artists float across the sky. Bound to her family’s circus, it’s the only world Cecile Cabot knows until she meets a charismatic young painter and embarks on a passionate affair that could cost her everything.

Virginia, 2004: Lara Barnes is on top of the world, but when her fiancé disappears on their wedding day every plan she has for the future comes crashing down. Desperate, Lara’s search for answers unexpectedly lead to her great-grandmother’s journals.

Swept into a story of a dark circus and ill-fated love, secrets about Lara’s family history come to light and reveal a curse that has been claiming payment from the women in her family for generations. A curse that might be tied to her fiancé’s mysterious fate . . .

Why readers love The Ladies of the Secret Circus . . .

A spellbinding historical fantasy . . . Fans of Erin Morgenstern’s The Night Circus will love this page-turning story of dark magic, star-crossed love, and familial sacrificePublishers Weekly (starred review)

At times decadent and macabre, The Ladies of the Secret Circus is a mesmerizing tale of love, treachery, and depraved magic percolating through four generations of Cabot women‘ Luanne G. Smith, author of The Vine Witch

Ambitious and teeming with magic, Sayers creates a fascinating mix of art, The Belle Époque, and more than a little murder‘ Erika Swyler, author of The Book of Speculation

The Ladies of the Secret Circus is a dazzling tale, laced with sinister magic, blood and beauty, love and loss. This is a book that will haunt you long after the last page is turned‘ Alyssa Palombo, author of The Spellbook of Katrina Van Tassel

Spellbinding. The Ladies Of The Secret Circus is a dazzling, high-wire feat of storytelling‘ Catherine Taylor, author of Beyond the Moon

The Ladies of the Secret Circus is a book to get lost inBookPage

Reviews

At times decadent and macabre, The Ladies of the Secret Circus is a mesmerizing tale of love, treachery, and depraved magic percolating through four generations of Cabot women
Luanne G. Smith author of <i>The Vine Witch</i>
Sayers weaves romance, mystery and a family curse into a spellbinding historical fantasy that stretches from 1920s Paris to modern-day America. Fans of Erin Morgenstern's The Night Circus will love this page-turning story of dark magic, star-crossed love, and familial sacrifice
Publishers Weekly (starred review)
Spellbinding. The Ladies Of The Secret Circus is a dazzling, high-wire feat of storytelling
Catherine Taylor, author of <i>Beyond the Moon</i>
Romance, mystery, and a family curse - The Ladies of the Secret Circus has it all
Popsugar
The Ladies of the Secret Circus is a book to get lost in . . . a story that feels like sitting down with an older relative and slowly, over hours, getting all the family secrets in one juicy, enchanted package
BookPage
Encompassing as many genres as a circus carousel has animals to ride, this is ultimately a story about love. Highly recommended for lovers of timeslip fiction, readers who enjoy their genres very bent indeed, and those who have dreamed of running away to the circus
Library Journal (starred review)
Ambitious and teeming with magic, Sayers creates a fascinating mix of art, The Belle Époque, and more than a little murder
Erika Swyler, author of <i>The Book of Speculation</i>
The Ladies of the Secret Circus is a dazzling tale, laced with sinister magic, blood and beauty, love and loss. This is a book that will haunt you long after the last page is turned
Alyssa Palombo, author of <i>The Spellbook of Katrina Van Tassel</i>