We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Letting in the Light

Buy Now:

Audiobook Downloadable / ISBN-13: 9781405542739

Price: £19.99

ON SALE: 13th January 2022

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Sagas

From the award-winning author of The Apothecary’s Daughter comes the next book in the Spindrift Trilogy – a beautifully evocative, family drama, perfect for fans of Santa Montefiore, Lucinda Riley and Elizabeth Jane Howard’s Cazalet Chronicles.

1914 Spindrift House, Cornwall

Edith Fairchild’s good-for-nothing husband, Benedict, deserted her when their children were babies. Now the children are almost adult, Edith and Pascal, her faithful lover of two decades, are planning to leave their beloved Spindrift artists’ community and finally be together.

But an explosive encounter between Benedict and Pascal forces old secrets into the light, causing rifts in the happiness and security of the community. Then an assassin’s bullet fired in faraway Sarajevo sets in motion a chain of events that changes everything.

Under the shadow of war, the community struggles to eke out a living. The younger generation enlist or volunteer to support the war effort, facing dangers that seemed unimaginable in the golden summer of 1914.

When it’s all over, will the Spindrift community survive an unexpected threat? And will Edith and Pascal ever be able to fulfil their dream?

Why do readers love Charlotte Betts?

‘Romantic, engaging and hugely satisfying’ Katie Fforde

‘A highly-recommended novel of love, tragedy and the power of art’ Daily Mail

Beautifully written, engaging and heart-warming’ Book Club Mumma

‘A highly compelling, engrossing read’ Discovering Diamonds

‘Evocative, enthralling and enjoyable’ Bookish Jottings

‘Poignant, compelling and extensively researched . . . I cannot wait to find out what happens next to these characters’ Sarah’s Vignettes

A delightful historical saga which is so beautifully woven together that from the very start I was enchanted’ Jaffa Reads Too

‘Rich in detail, full of passion this is a delightful and fascinating read’ Book Literati

The Spindrift Trilogy