We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

“I saw you, and I knew instantly that I could grow old with you. We’d be future-proof.”

When Rachel and Aidan fell in love, they thought it was forever.
She was a brilliant, high-flying scientist. He was her loving and supportive husband.
Now she’s gone, and Aidan must carry on and raise their daughter alone.
But Rachel has left behind her life’s work, a gift of love to see them through the dark days after her death.

A gift called iRachel.

The After Wife is an emotional story about love, loss, longing and belonging. For readers who loved The Time Traveller’s Wife, Me Before You and The Lovely Bones.
Read by Penelope Rawlins
(p) Orion Publishing Group 2018

Reviews

It was original, beautiful, moving and insanely addictive - I wept and I laughed and I will be recommending it to everyone I know.
Katie Marsh, author of MY EVERYTHING
I found The After Wife thought-provoking, compelling and strangely real - I loved it. And it kept me reading into the early hours several nights in row!
Isabel Ashdown
The healing power of love transcends death - This was such a beautifully written, emotionally compelling book. I loved it.
Rachael Lucas
Absorbing, moving and insightful. A compelling vision of what we all stand to gain (and lose) from the rise of the robots.
Ann Morgan
A wonderful, moving novel about family, love, and loss - and how, we can often find in the past what we need in the present. I adored this book - it's fresh, beautiful, profound and at times funny, it made me cry, but also made me smile.
Sue Watson
An original moving story about what it means to be human... and what it means to truly love. All the feels!
Tracy Buchanan
A story of love, loss and the future; it'll bamboozle and confound you in the best of ways
EMERALD STREET
Whatever our future brings, The After Wife shows us that the human heart never needs an upgrade.
David M Barnett
I was emotionally wrung out by the end.
Caroline Hulse
Unique, poignant, clever. Such a great idea brought to life (or to humanoid) beautifully.
The Unmumsy Mum
The After Wife is a beautiful, engaging story that deals with grief, love, and what makes us human. I adored iRachel! A unique tale that stayed with me long after I finished reading. Fans of The Time Traveller's Wife will love this book.
Libby Carpenter
this is a genre-crossing novel about what it means to be human, with a skilful and genuinely touching character arc for its non-human protagonist.
Julie Cohen, author of TOGETHER
The After Wife is a wonderful, original, and moving story - don't miss it!
Victoria Walters