Top

We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

These Burning Stars

On sale

19th October 2023

Price: £24.99

Select a format

Selected: Audiobook Downloadable / ISBN-13: 9781405558037

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Reviews

REALMS OF MY MIND
These Burning Stars is a tense sci-fi thrill ride that had me hooked from beginning to end . . . the plotting is meticulous and intricate and yet its execution seems effortless. This has skyrocketed into my Top Five Reads of 2023, and it will take something truly spectacular to dislodge it
BOOKLIST (starred review)
Readers who love smart thrillers and explosive SF won't want to miss this book. For fans of Everina Maxwell, Arkady Martine and Becky Chambers
LOCUS
A fast-moving novel of action and intrigue, which Jacobs pulls off with vivid energy, bringing her threads together in an explosive conclusion
BOOKLIST (starred review)
Readers who love smart thrillers and explosive SF won't want to miss this book. For fans of Everina Maxwell [and] Arkady Martine
PUBLISHERS WEEKLY
The resulting multiplayer cat-and-mouse game is intricately plotted and tightly paced with a satisfying ending that sets the stage nicely for the next instalment. Space opera fans will eat this up
Michael Mammay, author of PLANETSIDE
If I were to say that this was the best debut novel I've read in a long time, I would be doing it a disservice. It's more than that - it's one of the best SF books I've read period. It has it all: Jump off the page action, wild twists, superb world building. But the characters! . . . Even after the story's climax, I wanted to keep reading because I was so invested in these people and wanted to know where they were going next
Marina Lostetter, author of THE HELM OF MIDNIGHT
Jacobs' characters and prose have a sharpness to them that's both beautiful and devastating. These Burning Stars blew me away
Kameron Hurley, Hugo Award-winning author of THE STARS ARE LEGION
Immersive and epic; a sprawling space opera perfect for fans of A Memory Called Empire and Too Like the Lightning
Megan E. O'Keefe, author of VELOCITY WEAPON
Delightfully vicious, I loved it
Kate Elliott, author of UNCONQUERABLE SUN
Like every good revenge story, These Burning Stars is baroque, intense, inventive, vivid, violent and visceral: an impressive debut
LIBRARY JOURNAL (starred review)
The protagonists are carefully crafted, with their layers slowly built to impressive complexity. This buildup pays off as the chase escalates across planets and comes to a stunning conclusion . . . Full of political intrigue and impressive worldbuilding, Jacobs's superb debut launches this space opera trilogy
Ren Hutchings, author of UNDER FORTUNATE STARS
With a cast of deliciously dangerous characters and a gloriously executed plot that twists like a knife, this propulsive debut heralds the start of a sweeping space opera saga in the vein of Ann Leckie and Alastair Reynolds. Bethany Jacobs is an ingenious worldbuilder and a stunning new voice to look out for in sci-fi
SCIFI MIND
This is high adventure but also written with subtle observations of each character. I found it gripping all the way to its powerful ending
KIRKUS (starred review)
An intricate plot for revenge drives this far-future SF political thriller . . . An exciting start from a fresh talent, offering emotional and political complexity plus plenty of interplanetary action
J. S. Dewes, author of THE LAST WATCH
A richly imagined space opera packed with intricate worldbuilding, compelling prose, and twisty politics, artfully woven together and delivered through a cast of fallible, endearing characters. An incredible debut perfect for fans of Ann Leckie, Kate Elliott, and Scalzi's Interdependency series
SFX
A thoroughly entertaining game of interstellar cat-and-mouse . . . A dense and cleverly plotted mix of action and political intrigue
BOOKPAGE (starred review)
A multi-layered saga full of courtly intrigue and indelible characters, Bethany Jacobs' These Burning Stars warps readers across the galaxy on a devilishly fun thrill ride
Marina J. Lostetter, author of NOUMENON
These Burning Stars blew me away! Jacobs' characters and prose have a sharpness to them that's both beautiful and devastating. It's a debut you won't want to miss.
BLOGGING WITH DRAGONS
If you're looking for an edge-of-your-seat science fiction novel rife with multiple strong, morally grey female characters, revenge, queer characters and romance, plus political and religious intrigue, and brewing rebellions, look no further than These Burning Stars. I'll definitely be reading the next book in this series as soon as humanly possible
Essa Hansen, author of NOPHEK GLOSS
A sizzling political space opera exploring the borders of passion and monstrosity, hunter and hunted, obsession and devotion. Jacobs is an exciting new author to watch