We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Buy Now:

Audiobook Downloadable / ISBN-13: 9781472288417

Price: £19.99

From a powerful new voice in commercial fiction comes ZAINAB TAKES NEW YORK – a charming romcom about one woman learning to fall in love in one of the most magical cities on earth. A simultaneous love letter to New York City, and to Zainab’s ancestors, Ayesha Harruna Attah’s novel is perfect for fans of Uzma Jalaluddin, Kiley Reid and Angela Makholwa.

Zainab Sekyi is on a quest to find herself.

She’s moving to New York City to pursue her lifelong dream to become an illustrator, but she doesn’t just want to get a job. She’s also on a mission to make enough money to go on a night out, buy a whole bottle of wine (not just a glass) and, most importantly of all, to fall in love.

But as she grows accustomed to the hustle and bustle of city life – with the help of her new roommate Mary Grace, and life-long friend, Densua – she begins to hear the voices of her ancestors in her mind. . .

Could understanding her family’s past hold the key to Zainab’s future?

Readers love Zainab Takes New York…

This was just the most beautiful book, from it’s gorgeous cover to the immersive storyline. I haven’t read anything quite as engaging as this in recent years!’
Netgalley Reviewer, ****

Ayesha has a way of writing that makes it hard to put the book down.’
Netgalley reviewer *****

Praise for Ayesha Harruna Attah:

Beautifully written story that stimulates rich mental imagery’ ***** Reader Review

‘Very beautifully written***** Reader Review

‘One of the best books I’ve read in the last 10 years!’ ***** Reader Review

Amazing worth reading’ ***** Reader Review

‘I couldn’t put this book down***** Reader Review

‘Thank you for a beautiful story’ ***** Reader Review

(P)2021 Headline Publishing Group Limited