We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

The Father

CWA Daggers: International, 2016

ebook / ISBN-13: 9780751557848

Price: £8.99

ON SALE: 6th August 2015

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Thriller / Suspense

‘A powerful real-life story’
Guardian

An epic crime thriller for fans of Jo Nesbo, The Father is inspired by the extraordinary true story of three brothers who became Sweden’s most successful criminals – written by their real brother.

None had committed a crime before. All were under 24 years old. All of them would be changed forever.

In this intoxicating, heartbreaking thriller, the real-life fourth brother, who was not involved in the real robberies, tells of three boys who grew from innocent children to become public enemy number one – and of the man who made them that way.

‘Unique and stunning. One of the most powerful novels you’ll read this year’
Stephen Booth

‘The emotional centre of the story is truly compelling . . . the sweep and scope are epic’
Herald

‘Superior. . . builds to a breathless climax’
Sun

‘A deep, clean cut into the body of fathers, sons, loyalty and family’
Sainsburys Magazine

‘Will delight fans of Nordic Noir’
Crime Fiction Lover

‘Mind boggling and captivating’
The Crime Warp

‘An incredible story’
Crime Time

‘Many of the scenes stick with you’
Expressen, Sweden

‘A powerful and riveting reading experience’
Deckarbloggen, Sweden

‘One of the summer’s best thrillers’
Café, Sweden

‘The action in The Father is captivating. It holds us in suspense from the first page to the last’
LitteraturMagazinet, Sweden

‘[An] action-packed page turner – not for the faint of heart’
Elle, Germany

Reviews

The Father isn't just exciting-it also gives a sincere picture of a home that is a far cry from that of your average Joe
Ölandsbladet, Sweden
The craftsmanship in this novel is first-class. It is both exciting and dramatic in an almost cinematic way
Gefle Dagblad, Sweden
The action in The Father is captivating. It holds us in suspense from the first page to the last
LitteraturMagazinet, Sweden
A powerful real-life story
Guardian
The Father provides an intriguing insight in the criminal life
De Telegraaf, Netherlands
A book that seems infallible: bring on the cartloads of stars, the stellar reviews and the millions of readers
de Volkskrant, Netherlands
A deep, clean cut into the body of fathers, sons, loyalty and family
Sainsburys Magazine
A gripping coming-of-age story, flush with exciting scenes and the psychological battle between father and son
Falu-Kuriren, Sweden
One of the summer's best thrillers
Café, Sweden
The emotional centre of the story is truly compelling...the sweep and scope are epic
The Herald
It is hard to put The Father down for more than the briefest moment. It is an empathetic story that vividly portrays perpetrators, victims and police
Upsala Nya Tidning, Sweden
An unbelievably exciting and authentic story. . . One of the year's best crime stories
Östran, Sweden
Superior... builds to a breathless climax
Sun
Incredibly efficient and easy to read . . . gripping and thrilling
Helsingborgs Dagblad, Sweden
Superior. . . builds to a breathless climax
Sun
A thrilling novel that becomes something much more than a book you can't put down
Tara, Sweden
It is amazing how much tension the authors create while merely describing the preparations for the robberies. Even more exciting are the robberies themselves
VN Thriller & Detective Guide, Netherlands
The emotional centre of the story is truly compelling . . . the sweep and scope are epic
Herald
The Father is a novel where we know already from the beginning how it will all end, but the way there is worth our while
Aftonbladet, Sweden
[An] action-packed page turner - not for the faint of heart
Elle, Germany
Heartbreakingly blurs the line between criminal and victim in this stunning first of a two-novel series based on a sensational string of bank robberies in 1990s Sweden
Publishers Weekly
The Father is a book that will elicit a lot of response, a must-read for every crime lover. Actually, a must for anyone who likes to read
Hebban, The Netherlands
The Father is more than a traditional suspense novel. It is also a story of exclusion, a fractured family, an unfamiliar Sweden and a kind of honour culture. This is why it is so totally relevant to us
Mariestads-Tidningen, Sweden
Mind boggling and captivating
The Crime Warp
A powerful and riveting reading experience
Deckarbloggen, Sweden
An incredible story
Crime Time
Unique and stunning. One of the most powerful novels you'll read this year
Stephen Booth
Will delight fans of Nordic Noir
Crime Fiction Lover
The meticulous preparation and execution of the robberies are depicted stunningly
NRC Handelsblad, Netherlands
A very clever suspense novel, a classic story of crime and punishment that is simultaneously a gripping family drama with a genuinely painful element
BTJ, Sweden
A flawlessly constructed thriller
Femina, Sweden
Totally crazy, totally reckless and totally brilliant: a well-researched fictional reality of a book ... the best crime thriller of the year so far
Nordjyske Stiftstidende, Denmark
A remarkable blend of fact and fiction
Skånska Dagbladet, Sweden
A powerful real-life story
Guardian
The Father is thoroughly exciting from the first line to the last. Seductively well-written
Kristianstadsbladet, Sweden
Unique and stunning. One of the most powerful novels you'll read this year
Stephen Booth
A deep, clean cut into the body of fathers, sons, loyalty and family
Sainsburys Magazine
I have a soft spot not only for suspense novels, but also for coming-of-age stories; here, I get both!
Bokbabbel, Sweden
Will delight fans of Nordic noir
Crime Fiction Lover
The Father is a technically wonderful novel crafted with breathtaking cleverness
Corriere della Sera, Italy
An insider story that beats any action film
Aftonbladet, Sweden
One crazily addictive book
My Life in Books
Many of the scenes stick with you
Expressen, Sweden
It's extremely well written, thrilling, gripping, gruesome, cheerful, anguished, heartwarming, and ice cold - spectacular in all ways. The Father is a world-class piece of fiction
Fredericia Dagblad, Denmark
Never before have I read a book that so successfully explains how people can end up as criminals
Het Nieuwsblad, Netherlands
An incredible crime novel
Brabants Dagblad, Netherlands
It is captivating to read about the inner workings of a gang of robbers
Borås Tidning, Sweden
The structure is strictly cinematic: well-formed scenes with sharp dialogue and seamless progress, making reading a pleasure. Once you've started reading, it's hard to put the book down
Politiken, Denmark